Letters to Life

Letters to Life (18)

“You will not let superficial matters rule your heart”
– Random Paper Wisdom –

Dear Life,

Today I woke up feeling incredibly cranky. I have been like this for a few days now, uncertain of the reason why. I suspect it has something to do with my ongoing battle with my hormones, but I feel like I shouldn’t complain about that war ever since we sort-of-kind-of agreed to a ceasefire.

That’s right, I talk about my hormones as if they’re aliens who have invaded my body. Because sometimes that’s exactly what it feels like.

Anyway, Life, you work in strange ways. As I was in the car this morning with my father behind the steering wheel, bickering his way out of the street with my mother who was seated in the back, I honestly thought this was going to be a lost day. I felt so unspeakably annoyed by another one of my parent’s endless and pointless discussions, I was convinced I’d spontaneously explode before we had reached our destination.

But then the strangest thing happened: just before leaving the freeway, my mother spotted my sister driving in the car behind us. We were out to meet her at a children’s dinosaur museum to enjoy her birthday, but since she had to drive a lot further than us it was still a happy coincidence to find her right behind us.

From the moment both of our cars were parked in the lot, I had forgotten all about my sorrows. Seeing my birthday-girl sister with her two kids melted away all crankiness inside me and made room for an explosive amount of love. And just as I thought it couldn’t get any better, my brother-in-law R. also parked his car and unloaded his one-year-old. Three kids in the ages of one to four, that’s pure magic.

And a lot of work.

The good thing about being with small children is people don’t look at you funny when you act like one yourself. So after having been on a swing in the museum’s small playground with my eldest niece, I sat alone on it for a little while, just swinging.

I can’t remember the last time I was on a swing, Life, but that was my supreme joyful moment of the day.

In fact, my nieces and nephew had (unknowingly) managed to get me so happy and grateful, I wasn’t even bothered by my parent’s bickering on the way home.

Thank you, Life, for making sure I am surrounded by amazing people. And thank you for turning my sister’s birthday into a fun and exciting day.

X,
Samantha

4 thoughts on “Letters to Life (18)

Tell me what you think. Otherwise I'll assume you agree with me all the way! ;)

