Letters to Life

Letters to Life (11)

“You sing, fight, cry, pray, laugh, work and admire”
– Random Paper Wisdom (but the original quote is from Ramses Shaffy) –

Dear Life,

What’s your deal? I mean, I keep trying to figure out how you work, but I can’t fathom it all. Lately a new dilemma has arisen: what do you look like?

Is there a Big Life we are all part of? Like you are one big, ever moving stream and when we get born we just get thrown in, taking in our place within the whole? Or do we each get our own little part of you and together they make up the big picture?

In other words: are we swimming in an endless ocean of you or do we make up that ocean instead? Do you exist even if we all were to go extinct tomorrow? Or would you, Life, wilt away with us?

The reason why I ask is because I am confused. I always assumed everyone was part of something bigger than ourselves, an intangible thing that lives on even if the parts we play in it end. But that raises the question: what is the purpose of you, Life? If we each have our own tasks to do for the greater good, then surely you must have a goal of your own. Something that’s bigger than any living person, something we ought to help you achieve (even if we don’t know what it is).

But if we all get our own piece of Life with birth it would mean we are here for our own good. That our Life is precious, because when we lose it there’s no one to step in and take our place. That we are more than mere workers for the Greater Good, and we are here to learn a lesson.

I think during the past days my perspective of you, Life, has changed. From the former thought to the latter. It has to do with all the negative things you’ve been throwing at me and the people I care about, and for the love of the Universe I cannot think of a reason why you would do this. Why you would sit back and take away some of your own hard workers, harm your own if you’d be that big ocean we all swim in. It makes no sense at all.

It does make a little sense to think this happens so we learn a lesson to make our Life more valuable. To embrace the people we meet along the way, whose Life has somehow mixed itself up with ours. It would also explain that, even if one Life ends and it affects another, it doesn’t necessarily affect every other Life on Earth.

The more I think about this, the more it feels like I am starting to see the real you, what you are like. Each of us has been given our own Life. We mix it up with others, maybe for a while, maybe forever, but it’s ours and ours alone.

You are a precious thing, Life, and not to be taken for granted. There’s no big you, there’s only the little parts each of us has been given, and we ought to appreciate that to the fullest.

X,

Samantha


How do you see life? Are we part of a bigger deal or do we each have our own purpose?
2 thoughts on “Letters to Life (11)

  1. I really enjoyed this letter to life and your questions to it. It would be great if we got an answer, but I guess we will figure it out on the journey. Life is wonderful and I love life. Thank you for this unique read. 🙏

    Liked by 1 person

Tell me what you think. Otherwise I'll assume you agree with me all the way! ;)

