Status Update

When You’ve Got Nothing To Say…

…don’t say it.

I’ve been kind of out of it the last few days as a result of (what now seems to become) a series of bad news. First there was a dear friend who officially heard she lost her battle to cancer. After living like a zombie for a day (so that’s what that feels like! Better call AMC and have them hire me on their hit show – if they’d seen me yesterday that’s all the audition they could ever wish for), I ended up crying a lot because I felt so sad and angry and useless. All I could mutter was one thing: “BUT HOW!?” as none of it made sense.

Then today my parents brought home another batch of horrendous news for which I have no words either; there seems to be something terribly wrong with my unborn nephew/niece. Not sure if I mentioned this before, but my middle sister is pregnant again, although it seems it’s not going very well (to make the understatement of understatements). No matter our differences, nobody deserves this.
I can’t give any more details, both because I don’t have a lot and also because I don’t really want to talk about it. It’s too harsh to even think about it all.

So there you have it: I had this whole post almost planned out (I had an idea, but that’s where it starts, ey?), but since I apparently have lost all words except really bad ones (and I don’t want to use bad language on my blog), I’m just going to hit you with one of my favourite songs ever. It’s subtle, it’s sweet, and it says nothing at all. Like me right now.

Take care everyone, and let’s hope tomorrow brings better tidings :)


PS: If you want to make me feel better, try sending positive energy and thoughts to my friend and my sister and her husband. I’d appreciate that :)
14 thoughts on “When You’ve Got Nothing To Say…

  1. Sorry Samantha to hear all the sad news. The song selection was very nice. I think next Monday I will use Alison Krauss’ version that came out in I think 1995. So many artists have done that song, and it always comes out pretty good.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Bill. The song is great. I remember this version came out for the movie ‘Notting Hill’, which was okay but not too great (if you’ve got no better options you could watch it for your blog ;))

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, J. It’s just two other situations in which I am completely useless: I can’t fix these problems, I can’t make it better. Life at times is cruel and it’s difficult to accept these things are what they are and cannot be changed.

      Like

  2. [I commented once and it disappeared. Don’t blame me if this shows up twice.]
    Samantha, I am so sorry about both messages of bad news. if there was anything I could do to make things better for you, I would do it. I will be thinking of you. J.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. it makes me really sad to hear this Samantha. Your friend and sister don’t deserve this and the people around them, also you, don’t deserve these negative feelings either. pfff it also makes me speechless. Sometimes there are so many cruel things in life, and I wonder why does life give these bad situations to people? I hope you feel are going to feel better and I hope there is going to be more positivity in your life after this hard time x

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Words are sometimes never good enough to capture what to say. My mind’s in battle mode, btw: one part of it knows there’s nothing I can do and is building up power to be strong when I need to, the other half refuses to sit and watch and accept the situations. So I’ve turned that part off, haha :p Meaning I go by on zombie mode every day, working on half capacity. But otherwise I’d be spending too much time worrying and pondering about all the things that won’t help either situation.

        And don’t worry about the mistakes: I understand what you mean so it’s ok ;)

        Liked by 1 person

Tell me what you think. Otherwise I'll assume you agree with me all the way! ;)

