Status Update

Jurassic Heart, aka The Lost Cramp

Seriously, Jurassic Park 2 (The Lost World) will go down in my personal history as the film I was watching when I got heart cramps. Is that even possible, “heart cramps”? I don’t know what happened, but it felt like eating something that goes down the wrong way: I inhaled, something went wrong and next thing I knew my chest started to cramp up! The entire area around my heart jumped straight into agony as the velociraptors were jumping to attack Dr. Malcolm and his family (and each other).

Maybe it had something to do with my mother watching Eragon earlier that evening, and the title hero ripping some bad guy’s heart out… Hmm…

Anyway, the cramps are not new as I’ve had them since I was a kid. Not regularly, but every once in a long while they’d happen. Just a matter of staying calm and focus on my breathing and they’d go away.

My mother told me repeatedly that when I was born I had my left hand clenched to my chest so tightly it had left me black and blue. Maybe this means my body is extra sensitive there? Could that be it?

Whatever it is, it was never as bad as yesterday, when even exhaling was excruciating! And when I thought it had gotten better and I prepared myself for bed, the cramps returned (which just goes to show how stupid I can be, thinking it’d be okay to lie down on the side of my body that was only in complete agony minutes before – that’s basically just asking for it to happen again).

For a split second I thought I might not wake up today, but thankfully I did (I never really doubted that fact, but still… lots of pain). I am fine now, so no worries. I’m still a little sensitive around my left side’s chest area, but breathing is no longer painful and I have no other complaints, so I am good.

Maybe it was just my body telling me The Lost World is not as good as its predecessor. Which I can only agree to.


Have you ever had “heart cramps”? Or any other type of physical discomfort that keeps popping up? If so, what do you do when that happens?
15 thoughts on “Jurassic Heart, aka The Lost Cramp

  1. Sorry to hear. Hopefully, you don’t have some type of arrhythmia that occurs every now and then like supraventricular tachycardia (SVT). Heartburn could be the case too. Or even a panic attack. 😐​ I’m glad you are better now. Luckily, I don’t have a physical discomfort that keeps popping up, but I have an interesting Jurassic Park story. I had my thyroid removed when I was 19 years old because there was a goiter on it. Luckily, everything was benign. Well, a complication from removing your thyroid is that your calcium can go low because your parathyroid gland is near your thyroid. I was watching Jurassic Park, and I cramped up all over. My mouth and eyes closed shut. Hands tight in fists. It was bad. Luckily, I got calcium and everything was fine. Moral of the story: No more Jurassic Park for us. 😜​

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Haha, yes, Jurassic Park is the common denominator here, lol! Glad you are okay, that must have been a scare!
      I told myself if it happens again I’ll have it checked out. I’ve had it for as long as I can remember, sometimes going years without experiencing it, but it could be anything, I guess. Never held me back so I’m sure it’s fine.

      Liked by 2 people

  2. I feel like I sometimes have gotten this (not even while watching any of the jurassic park series), where I’d get a sharp pain that would make me have to take very shallow breaths and try to stay calm until the pain subsided. I never got it checked out which is stupid because now as an adult (older adult?) I have high blood pressure and high cholesterol. Hmmm… I better go get a check up. Maybe I’ll bring a dvd of jurassic park II so that I can reproduce the symptoms in the dr office? ;)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, well, I’ve always found the velociraptors very annoying (they just don’t give up, do they!?) so maybe that triggered something in my body to respond unpleasantly :p

      Like

  3. That sounds uncomfortable and scary. I’m glad you’re OK. I’ve had cramps next to my rib cage, but not to that degree.
    Off and on for years I’ve had a pain that runs down my right arm. Two of my fingers on my right hand are often numb. It turns out I have a pinched nerve next to my vertebrae. I received some physical therapy and learned how to stretch when the neck and arm start getting stiff. J.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Oh, it’s good that you know what it is and how to react when you’re in pain. I often find my right ring finger to get numb when I’m driving my car and it’s cold. Somehow only that finger, though… But that’s because of low blood pressure (at least that’s what my doctor said) and it always gets better when my car heater works its magic :)

      As for my “heart cramps” I’ve been good.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I agree completely that it sounds uncomfortable and scary. Mechanical malfunctions in the body always freak me out. Please think seriously of at least running that by your doctor, Samantha. Hope you feel better.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I will when it plays up again anytime soon. I’ve had it before and it always got better, I guess I never really gave it a thought about it being anything serious. I was a little surprised to find it to be so extreme this time, but I’ve been good since then. But next time, yea, I’ll run to the doctor’s. Or maybe just call them first.

      Liked by 1 person

Tell me what you think. Otherwise I'll assume you agree with me all the way! ;)

