Dictionary

Magic (aka It Exists! All You Have To Do Is Believe)

magic1[Noun; ~ Pronunciation: /maj-ik/]

  • Definition: Watching something happen of which you had never thought it would ever happen. Experiencing the impossible, that is pure magic.
“Magic is believing in yourself, if you can do that, you can make anything happen”
– Johann Wolfgang von Goethe –

(Yes, they won)

Last Sunday I had a brunch with friends. One of them, R,  told me he had recently discovered my blog and had started browsing through it. R complimented me on my writing skills and how I always manage to see the positive side of things.

If only he knew.

For the past eight years, magic has been happening. But it was so subtle I only just now realised it was there, tipping the scales of my view on life from Desperately Negative to Happily Positive.

I mean, I do still have my bad moments, but I am not nearly as negative as I used to be. I am now more realistic, yet always on the lookout for that silver lining. In that respect, my friend is right; I seem to be constantly trying to find the good side of things. And it’s not restricted to other people only, I also do it for myself.

Imagine that.

At the age of twenty-two I had my Big Breakdown; I had mentally collapsed and given myself an ultimatum: either find help or commit suicide (I am not joking). The feelings I had, all the negativity inside of me, it had to stop. I couldn’t live with it any more so something had to change.

In the end, I changed. Miraculously, I might add. If anyone who knew me back then would see me now, they wouldn’t believe their eyes. Sometimes I don’t even believe what I see (or hear or think or do)!

Magic isn’t for free, though. It doesn’t just float around, land on your head and change your life spectacularly. Magic requires action and spirit. A whole lot of motivation is needed, too. Magic needs to know you mean it. That you know what you want. That you believe you can change, no matter how impossible it may seem.

If you show yourself you are in it for the win, magic will happen. Not overnight. Never overnight, that would be too big a shock (imagine waking up to all your problems being solved – that’s not magic that’s just absurd). But it’s right there, inside you, working its powers to help you achieve the impossible.

I run a positivity blog. Seriously, go build a time machine, travel back eight years and go tell my old self that. She’ll never believe you!

A part of her is still here, though, amazed at all the things that happened, at how someone so negative it was eating her up inside turned into a bubbly crazy positivist. She’s now my realistic part. Sometimes overly negative, still, but mostly toning down my excitement when needed, telling me some things are just not possible.

And then they happen anyway, because, you know, magic is real!

It’s not like in the movies, where fairy godmothers wave their wands and everything is fine. But magic exists inside of you. All you have to do is believe in it and try your best – you’ll be amazed at what you will find!


What was one of your magical moments in life?
7 thoughts on “Magic (aka It Exists! All You Have To Do Is Believe)

Tell me what you think. Otherwise I'll assume you agree with me all the way! ;)

