Dictionary

2016 Goals (aka Aim, Shoot, Score!)

[Noun; ~ Pronunciation: /gohls/]

  • Definition: Looking back at the list of goals you set for the year that is about to end, to find you did very well. Also, realising that clear objectives are easier to handle than, say, vague resolutions.

goals

“The new year stands before us, like a chapter in a book, waiting to be written. We can help write that story by setting goals”
– Melody Beattie –

Okay, so I crossed one out and changed it into something else. I, the Queen of Perfectionisticism and normally fiercely against changing anything that’s written (in stone), say it was needed. Why? Because before I can move to another country I need to know what I want to do there. Hence, this causality caused me to rewrite one of my 2016 goals.

Which I then got to tick off, because I found out what  want to do! Yep. I want to help people rebuild their self-esteem, and I have taken steps to evolve in that direction. Namely, by enrolling for a course.

First things first, though. Let’s handle these targets one by one, starting with the completed ones!

Accomplished
  • Visit Canada
    Don’t you remember my photos?? D:
  • Find out what I want to do
    I want to become a life coach. Well, that’s the first step, what I really want is what I said above: help people rebuild their self-esteem. Makes sure they understand their own worth and believe in themselves.
  • Celebrate my 29th birthday
    As some of you might know my real 29th birthday was a huge let-down. My mother had pneumonia, I had the flu and my father had a cold. We spent my birthday at the doctor’s office instead of in a luxury spa (as I had wanted to). The only thing making me suffer a bit less was the promise I made myself: I’d celebrate my 29th in style on another date. It took me almost a year (my birthday is on Halloween and I finally got to the spa on September 9th this year), but I did it. A lovely, extremely relaxing day.
  • Take up running (hit 5k)
    I remember my first run on January 1st, 2016. I passed another runner and as I said “hi” she tried to high-five me, but that didn’t work out very well… Nevertheless, I kept putting on my running shoes and made myself go out at least once a week. Slowly I crept back to my old level (3.5-4k), then I exceeded it and now I can run 5k! JUST 5k, but still :) I am keeping this up and am hoping to increase my endurance and distance even more in 2017.
  • Do Icelandic course (up to lesson 5)
    As you can see I altered this goal a little, because it was not possible to cram sixteen lessons into one year (trust me, the lessons are quite extensive). I simply didn’t have enough time, but I figured it must be possible to finish at least five of them, and I did! Ég er glað!
  • Win lottery
    Every year me and my mother each pay half of a New Year’s State Lottery Ticket and we never win a single cent. But this year we won €20! That’s €10 each! And you know, he who despises the small is not worthy of the great. Basically, I won something. And it was in a lottery, so… Check!
  • Enjoy myself
    I think the Canada trip alone gave me reason enough to tick this one off. I can’t remember the last time I had so much fun. Plus, I made lots of new friends and they made me realise there’s so much to enjoy in life!
Not accomplished
  • Write my story
    Sometimes you need to stop and go back a few steps before you can reach your ultimate goal. If I want to write my story, I now realise I need to start smaller: take the pressure off to make it “perfect” and get into the habit of writing fiction. Thus, one of my new goals for 2017 is to write at least three short stories. I think that’s easier to accomplish and it will pave the way for this story that’s been running around in my head for years.

This was my list of goals for 2016, and I am in the process of making a new one for the upcoming year. If you’re into trying this out, too, make sure your goals are clear and attainable. For instance, I could have put just “take up running”, but instead I quantified it by adding the “(hit 5k)”. After all, what does “take up running” mean? Go running once? Twice?  Now I had a clear objective to work towards. Nobody gets better from vague goals ;)

I wish you all a happy New Year and may all your goals be reached!


Do you have goals and/or resolutions for the new year?
9 thoughts on “2016 Goals (aka Aim, Shoot, Score!)

  1. Now I know what kinda coach you want to be. I almost want to get a session with you right away, sadly you are far away. It’s great to see that you have made such beautiful goals and tried to accomplish them. I loath goals listing but I loved yours.. Keep it up in 2017 too, Sammy. May God bless you with lots of happiness and love. :)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Hemangini. I hope 2017 brings you nothing but good moments, lots of love and tons of positivity. If there’s anyone out there who doesn’t need a life coach, it’s probably you with all your wisdom :) Take care and Happy New Year!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. hehe I don’t need a life coach for sure but right now I am such mess! just need to unwind and decide some things for a better me I guess… :) *Hug* thanks for being so supportive and strong Sammy. You will be a great life coach. :)

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I envy your list as I admittedly don’t have my goals and objectives laid out formally. Mine are rattling about in my head, destined to come out at some point. It will be a year of big decisions and possibly big moves. That may be why ultimately the number of goals may be quite low but they also may be very “large” ones. Congrats on that lottery win Samantha – well “played!” The best to you and yours in 2017!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Bruce. The main reason why I pen down my goals is because I keep dreaming about all the things I want to do, but I never do them. Writing them down gives me that extra boost I need to actually try and accomplish them.
      Hope all your big goals and decisions will work out great for you! May 2017 be an amazing year for you and your family :)

      Liked by 1 person

Tell me what you think. Otherwise I'll assume you agree with me all the way! ;)

