Dictionary

Approved (aka Going Back To School Is Exciting)

[Verb; ~ Pronunciation: /uh-proov d/]

  • Definition: Getting the green light to start a new chapter in your life. One that makes you happy even thinking about it. Finally, I feel as if I’ve found my way. At least for the next year!

approved“Happiness can exist only in acceptance”
– George Orwell –

Being accepted feels so much better than being rejected!

As you probably guessed: I got approved for a coaching course next year! :)

Yesterday I had an intake interview with the head coach of the course I want to start in January. I was a bit nervous, because I am so used to being told I am not good enough (or made to feel this way), and I also had to send in my CV. If there’s anything in this world I made I am not proud of, it’s my résumé. Just to get that straight.

But after arriving a little late (I hate being late – talk about making a good impression!), the head coach greeted me heartily at the door. And not only that: she remembered me from the information day!

In a good way!

We had a really nice chat and I even got a surprising compliment, as the head coach mentioned she thought my résumé was “very vibrant.” We talked a bit more about my past and things I would like to work on personally, as this course is not just to learn how to coach others; you have to understand and evolve yourself as well.

She then told me she thought I was well ahead of my peers when it comes to self-development. I don’t think she could have given me a bigger compliment at this point in my life. And I don’t think she was sucking up (another student is another bash of money coming her way): she was genuinely interested and kind.

All in all, apart from me being late (stupid red traffic lights), everything was peachy-good!

Now it’s waiting for the official documents, reading list and preparation homework, and then when January hits its 28th day, I will be a student again.

Somehow, I never imagined going back to school. Apart from my English course, which was mostly just fun, I never intended shoving my nose down study books again to absorb more (theoretical) knowledge. I promised myself I was done, after I graduated from college.

If this course had been only theories again, I’d probably given up before starting. But it’s mostly focused on putting your new coaching knowledge into practice, which sounds both scary and very exhilarating! Scary, because I am a theory person, and exhilarating because I’d like to change that.

2017 is going to be a year of extreme personal insights and growth, I can tell you that. I hope I can share a lot of what I’ll learn with you here.

Not everything is awesome about this, though, as joining this course means I’ll be living in the Netherlands for at least another year (get me out of here!!).
BUT! The certificate is valid in all of Europe, so after I graduate there’s no borders stopping me from coaching people in this part of the World! Muahaha! >:)

Now if you’ll excuse me, I am going to bask in my moment of glory for as long as it lasts (which is probably until I get my reading list). I don’t think I’ve ever felt more motivated in my life about anything!

You see what a little approval can do for your inner well-being? In that case:

I am Samantha and I approve of all of you reading this ;)

Take care this week!


When did you last get approved for something and how did that make you feel?
43 thoughts on “Approved (aka Going Back To School Is Exciting)

      1. 🐼 🐼 🐼 🐼 🐼 🐼 🐼
        🐼 🐼 🐼 🐼 🐼 🐼 🐼 🐼
        🐼 🐼 🐼 🐼 🐼 🐼 🐼 🐼 🐼
        🐼 🐼 🐼 🐼 🐼 🐼 🐼 🐼 🐼 🐼
        🐼 🐼 🐼 🐼 🐼 🐼 🐼 🐼 🐼 🐼 🐼
        🐼 🐼 🐼 🐼 🐼 🐼 🐼 🐼 🐼 🐼 🐼 🐼
        🐼 🐼 🐼 🐼 🐼 🐼 🐼 🐼 🐼 🐼 🐼 🐼 🐼

        At your service ;-)

        Like

  1. And so it begins. Hold onto what you are feeling now as you dive into your studies. It is the feeling you have right now which will help sustain you as you begin to actually execute your vision towards a great career. Congrats Samantha!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Wow Sammy all the best :). A lot has happened during my absence from the blogging world and I feel like I missed you guys so much.. It’s fun to see you been writing and blogging. Have lots of fun and learn a lot. :) What kinda coach are you going to become?

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hemangini, it’s so good to see you back! I notice you posted some book reports, but I secretly like your other posts better, in which you talk about life and yourself. I hope you’re back for some more of that! :)
      I’ll be training to become a life and career coach (as they mentioned you cannot be a life coach without expecting career-related issues to be solved), but mainly a life coach. Can’t wait to start! Have you got big plans for 2017?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I am also thinking to write more of my ‘thoughtful’ posts.. Thanks for liking them Sammy. :) I have been in a mess, job takes up almost 10-12 hours a day and I am left with no energy to write. Right now I am on a leave and thinking seriously if I want to do this job and live like this. So that is one big thing in my 2017, no plans yet ‘cuz my mind refuses to think for myself, so tired.

        What about you? Any plans for 2017 since 2016 was hit?

        Liked by 2 people

        1. 2017 is going to be great. A friend of mine said she had decided it would and I said I love the idea and agree. You’ll find a solution to your job “problem”, I am sure. Often when you least expect it, you’ll figure out what way to go.
          As for me, I got plenty of plans. Some small, some big, some practical and some spiritual. A little bit of everything :)

          Liked by 1 person

  3. Well first of all I have been kinda distracted so Im going to read everything on your website right now! Second of all HAPPY NEW YEAR! And third of all I knew you could do it and Im soooo happy for you!! Can I maybe ask you what you did for study before this and what kind of course this is? Because Im also looking and searching for something that will fit me and I think this sounds also really interesting, so maybe you can give me some information!! PROUD OF YOU samantha!! Keep on going :)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks and Happy New Year to you, too! Don’t feel obliged to read up on everything: I post too many silly things for that.
      I studied sociology and this is a life coach course (that also focuses on careers, because life questions also involve a lot of career issues, apparently). They have four starting dates each year and several locations throughout the country. If you want more info, google balansgroep cursussen, that should get you to their website :)
      I hope you’ll find your passion soon! But if you don’t, know it’s okay too and just do what I did: travel around as much as you can ;)

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I just saw this. Congrat!!! It feels get to get accepted into something. I’ve been querying literary agents, and it’s full of rejections. When I get one (which I will), it’ll feel so good to get the letter of approval :).

    Liked by 1 person

Tell me what you think. Otherwise I'll assume you agree with me all the way! ;)

