Sunday Summary

Sunday Summary

(Week 50)

summary“I take all of my life lessons, which some people may call ‘mistakes’, and apply them to my future so that I keep growing”
– Kimberly Caldwell –

So many things to learn in life… So little time! Here’s another summary of newly gained knowledge:

  1. You cannot think for someone else, you can only assume

    My best friend is ignoring me and I have no idea why. I mean, I have all kinds of ideas, but I know those are probably not the truth. I can only assume why she’s behaving like this, and currently I worry myself sick because I think something’s going on in her life that’s so terrible, she can’t even talk about it with me. On the other hand, maybe she’s upset with me for something I don’t know I did and this is her way of punishing me.
    Whatever it is, It’s driving me crazy. I know I can’t think for someone else, I can only assume. And right now, I assume the worst.

  2. The proper way to poop

    *TRAUMA ALERT* Watch video with caution, as you can never un-see it again!

    I was chatting with a friend the other day and we ended up discussion unicorns (don’t ask – it started with me abusing the unicorn emoji. Hey, if it’s there, I might as well use it. A lot). After a hilarious chat about unicorns and unicorned beef (really don’t ask), he sent me a link to this video:

    Not only does it explain the correct way to poop, it also crushes every little bit of innocence you thought came with unicorns and ice cream… You were warned!

  3. Australians might be more down-to-earth than the Dutch

    The Dutch pride themselves for many things (in general), one of those being their down-to-earth-ness. As if we’re the most practical people on the planet and we don’t do bullsh*t. Well, after reading a little piece in the paper this week I am not so sure we’re the top ones in that field. Some Australian golfers found a snake eating a wallaby on one of the courses. They didn’t do anything, but stand back (and at least one of them took a picture), and comment: “Well, it happens sometimes. That’s nature. But don’t worry: those snakes don’t eat people: we’re all safe.”
    Maybe living in a country with so many deadly animals makes you adapt quickly and creates a very practical mindset.

  4. If there is any decision in life worth taking, it is the decision to do good

    I had him, you know. The guy who cast me aside for another girl – twice! I could have gotten my sweet, sweet revenge on him, but I didn’t in the end. Not because he didn’t deserve it (he did), but because he wasn’t worth the effort.
    There is already so much anger and evil in the world, it’s easy to choose to go down that path, too. Even for a little bit. But in the end, we only harm ourselves with that behaviour. If you must choose, choose to spend your energy wisely and do something good. For someone else, for yourself, just something good. It’s worth it so much more than focussing on hatred.
    Besides, don’t forget there’s karma working your revenge for you. Just saying ;) Be good and do good and let karma take care of the rest.

  5. Don’t judge others because you would have acted differently if you’d been in their shoes

    Today I received a message from a friend. It was personal, so I won’t go into it because it’s nothing to do with me, apart from the fact that I realised something. That I probably would not have made the same decision she made, had I been in her decision. But this doesn’t mean my view on the matter is the only good one. I have no say in what she does or doesn’t do in her life (especially not if it doesn’t concern me). As my friend, I wish her the best and if she makes a decision I probably wouldn’t have myself, then I am right there to back her up. We were not put on this planet to judge one another, we’re here to help each other out.

  6. A good preparation is half the work

    Today there would have been a reunion of the Canada-trip folks. It was cancelled due to lack of interest, which I suspect has to do with the fact we only got the final plans and invite for it last Wednesday. Although the intentions were good, I can imagine a lot of people making other plans for today as we didn’t hear from the organiser at all before said Wednesday, not even after multiple inquiries from some Canada-goers. Me, I am down with the flu (thanks mum – she has this love-hate relationship with the flu and loves for me to bask in it as well, from time to time), so I’d have had to cancel anyway. But in the case of planning big events: make sure you are well prepared! And well in time, too.

  7. Paper wisdom! Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you anywhere

    I am sure this is an Einstein quote, and one of my favourites! Sometimes it is necessary to think outside the box in order to move forward in life. We need both, though, logic and imagination. Don’t choose one over the other permanently, but make wise decisions based on the situation you’re in.
    best_wishes

That’s all the wisdom I can share with you this week! I hope you had a good Week 50 and your eyes didn’t burn out of their sockets from watching the squatty-potty video (with the unicorn).

Having said that, here’s Britney’s new nose to look at (she’s got to have had something done to it – she looks different yet the same… I swear something’s up with her nose. I could be wrong, though). My brains finally settled for one of her new songs to be repeated in my head, so I hereby happily present you with the Earworm Of The Week.

Cheers!

What have you learned this week?
11 thoughts on “Sunday Summary

  1. Sorry about your friend in #1. I know how easy it is to imagine the worst–she has a terrible problem she cannot share, or she is angry at you and won’t tell you why. It’s probably not either of those. Chances are she’s preoccupied with something–a problem, an opportunity, a decision, who knows?–and she doesn’t even realize that she’s shut you out of her life. J.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. No, she knows. I sent her a text asking her why she’s ignoring me and if something’s wrong. After a missed call I tried phoning back, but ever since it’s quiet. But she knows. Maybe she’s in trouble, I hope not. Maybe she’s fed up with me, I hope not. Maybe there’s another reason, probably there is. I’m not sure if I’ll ever find out, though :(

      Like

  2. Jeetje! Wat afschuwelijk. Daar weet ik alles van. Ik weet helaas het
    Nederlandse woord voor “Grütze” ;-) niet. But I guess the old Leonard Cohen applies: “There is a crack in everything, that’s how the light gets in!” Viel Glück morgen!!! :-) :-) :-)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I learned that I think I will suffer less disappointment in life if I don’t think of people as “Friends”, but think of people as “People I Like”. I think this definitely changes one’s expectations of others. Thanks Samantha

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Well Samantha, now you know I pay attention :) I had a hunch you might recognize what I was saying came originally from you. But the other hundreds of people I’ve said it to think I am simply brilliant.

        Liked by 1 person

Tell me what you think. Otherwise I'll assume you agree with me all the way! ;)

