Sunday Summary

Sunday Summary

(Week 49)

summary“Science is organised knowledge. Wisdom is organised life”
– Immanuel Kant –

It’s that time of the week again! Here’s some new wisdom I picked up:

  1. There is always someone who cares

    If you feel lost or lonely, know there is always someone who cares, even if it might not feel like that. For every person that ignores you, there’s at least two friends who are interested in what’s going on. Maybe you don’t see it right away, but it’s true. If you lose one thing, you gain something else, and there is always somebody out there who cares about you. Always!

  2. Sometimes something happens twice, because you didn’t learn from it the first time

    Do you know that saying: a fox is not caught twice in the same snare? Well, guess what: we ain’t foxes! So yes, sometimes the same thing will happen to you twice; from a different, unexpected corner you’ll get another hit just like the first one and you wonder: why me? The answer probably is: because you didn’t listen the first time. Go back, relive the bad moment and think what you could have done to prevent it from happening again. Because you clearly overlooked something.

  3. Apprehension is often unnecessary

    I hate having to deliver bad news, and as I worry about how to break it to someone I often get overwhelmed by a strong feeling of apprehension. For instance: I really want to become a life coach, but I am not 100% convinced I want to start my own practice right after, something I did talk about with a friend. Something she was very excited about. But how to tell her I had doubts?
    In the end I just did and she was cool about it. After A I am just very… itchy when it comes to friends. Like one wrong word from me or a wrongly interpreted intonation from them can break the friendship.
    All that worrying, though, was for nothing. Sometimes you simply can’t predict what will happen and the only way to deal with it is be open and honest. And respectful.

  4. Set clear boundaries

    This builds on number three and is actually what I learned when I mentioned number two. If you want people to treat you differently, make sure they know how. Set clear boundaries, let them know what you think is okay behaviour and what is not, and be honest. You don’t always have to jump into a fight, but stay calm and be open about what’s bothering you. If they then choose to continue their misbehaviour towards you, leave them. Because nobody in the World has the right to treat you like a fool, know that. If they do, it means you let them.

  5. Meditation works

    I am not sure if I’ve mentioned this before, but meditating works to clear you head and become more relaxed. I’ve slacked off meditating for the past weeks, but as my head became overflowing with negative thoughts my desire for a bit of peace and quiet grew. So this morning I grabbed my phone (I have a meditating app, I’m useless without it – it’s called something like Buddha Meditation) and laid down. Burned some incense and focused on my breathing.
    I only meditated for eight minutes in total, but I felt a lot calmer afterwards. I was even able to take on the huge crowd at my nephew’s birthday party :)

  6. Sometimes breaking the rules isn’t a bad thing

    I love rules. I do, because I appreciate it when people are clear in what they want.
    One household rule here, implemented by yours truly, is that I won’t wake up my gerbils to play with them. If they sleep, they sleep and I refuse to disturb them.
    However, lately I’ve noticed they sleep more and longer during the late afternoons, straight into late evenings. Which is fine for them, but it means I have less time to give them love and attention. So I broke my own rule and decided to just whisk them out of their unnatural surroundings to spend time with them. I mean, one of them has a lump on his belly and the other one has chronic ear problems. I assume they probably won’t grow to be very old, so every minute I can spend with them is a minute won.
    Having said that, I do try to take them out when they’re awake already, it’s just that sometimes I have no other choice if I want to pet them daily.

  7. Paper wisdom! I concentrate on the now and I remain critical about everything that happens, because I can only judge from my own experiences

    This one is easier to explain than some of the others from last week’s summary, haha! Whatever people tell you or try to make you believe: believe in your own truth. believe in what you see, hear and know. Don’t automatically trust everyone, but be your own judge. Living in the now is the only thing we can do, because the past has already gone by and the future is unknown. Live now, and live critically: don’t assume every bit of information thrown at you is real, but find out for yourself.

What’s left is to share my Earworm Of The Week with you. I got Britney’s new album, Glory, and I am happily surprised! I even dare say the Queen of Pop is back!

This does mean, though, that I’ve been stuck with all kinds of her songs in my head for the past week. Since I can’t possibly put fifteen Earworms on here, I’m going to throw in a completely different song. To prove my country harbours bands that can produce much better music than some of the Dutch songs I’ve shared on here (like that Helikopter one).

Cheers!

What did you learn this week?
23 thoughts on “Sunday Summary

        1. I know she’s not the best singer out there… But somehow I am happy she’s delivered another great album. I guess she just brings back the 12-year-old in me (my age when she overtook the world with Baby One More Time…)

          Like

  1. Hey hey, whoop whoop — what do I spy with maik’s little eye: a music group from the coolest D U T C H ;-) rock group ever :-) And my favorite one that is :-) Did I mention Dutch, nudge nudge ;-) Here’s to Golden Earring <3

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh yes, some things have happened to me (or me to them really) more than once because I just wouldn’t see the lesson until it punched my gut right in the face. And boundaries, please someone help me with boundaries! Great post, thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for commenting! Setting boundaries, I suspect, is going to be harder than I thought at first. Especially when it comes to people who I’ve known for a while. But still… I owe it to myself to try :)

      Liked by 1 person

  3. All good advice – especially like rule-breaking. In the workplace I was usually the person stirring the pot, trying to get things done better instead of the dreaded “way we always do things.” Also agree strongly that apprehension is oft a waste of time. Our brains build all sorts of bridges we’ll never, ever have to cross. It’s what we do. I think the sooner one realizes that the better. Saves a lot of nerve and brain cells alike!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Apprehension dawned again when I realised I had to talk money with my father today. But here also: it worked out fine in the end.
      Rules are guidelines and we often forget sometimes it’s better to step outside of the little box we are in. Glad you liked the post! :)

      Liked by 1 person

Tell me what you think. Otherwise I'll assume you agree with me all the way! ;)

