Sunday Summary

Sunday Summary (Special Edition)

(Week 48)

summary_special“It is easy to hate and difficult to love. This is how the whole scheme of things works. All good things are difficult to achieve; and bad things are very easy to get”
– Confucius –

This week was both difficult and easy. Difficult because I was in the process of coming to terms with several things, and easy because I didn’t give 100%, except for my job (but I could never give less than 100% on a professional level – it’s easier to cut back on yourself). The latter was reflected in my posts, and I am sorry for that, but on the other hand: I just didn’t have the energy to care more.

Having said all that, here is this week’s summary, and since it is the first Sunday in a new month, it’s a Special Edition. Despite having come to terms with a lot of issues, I again chose the easy way out by collecting not one, but seven paper wisdoms.

In the end, they are wiser than me, anyway, so I might as well share their wisdom ;)

  1. Will you come get lost with me? I know the way!

    (Yes, this is seriously what it says). Fun fact: I have been feeling lost for ages! I wanted to write “centuries”, but I am not that old – yet. In getting and feeling lost I am a true master. In trying to find my way back… Maybe a little. What I learned while being lost was that it might not be the biggest problem after all: it simply means you get to try out all directions, as all roads are wide open for you.

  2. You are a reader who judges while being enjoyed and enjoys while being a judge: in a way, you are recreating the art

    Can someone hand me a dictionary so I can translate this? Oh wait…
    I just finished reading a book, if we take this literally, and I noticed many grammar and spelling mistakes in it. But even so (and I am harsh when it comes to unnecessary mistakes in stories) I greatly enjoyed the book. If we take this figuratively, what better way is there to describe life and how we treat each other? In communication, we tend to both judge the other party and enjoy ourselves at the same time. And in a way, we are so recreating ourselves. Deep huh? I told you my paper wisdoms were good ;)

  3. I know the truth cannot be held within one faith or one system

    This is the reason why I lost my traditional faith, in a way. I realised that whatever is out there (I do believe there’s something “out there”), it has to be so big, so incomprehensible, we must all be wrong. I mean, I respect people for what they believe, be it in God or Allah, something or someone else or nothing at all, but this is what I believe. I think together we all have a piece of the truth, but we’ll never know for sure.
    Which means I am not completely right, either :)

  4. If you think everything’s working against you, think again

    This one made me smile. Why? Because this is exactly what I’ve been doing last week: thinking everything and everyone is out to get me, that all is wrong. But it’s not. Things simply are the way they are, and nothing is working against you but yourself. So get over it. Shake your head, reset yourself and think again.

  5. I will not look at the splinter in the eye of the other before I have found the beam in my own eye. Only after I have removed that can I aid others in taking away their splinters

    Talk about analogies here… where’s my dictionary again? Oh right, she’s typing this (in case you missed the first pun).
    If you replace each “splinter” and the “beam” from the story with “problems” (and remove the eye theme in general), you get what my paper is saying. First take care of yourself, because if you don’t you cannot help someone else. Also, carrying around a beam in your eye sounds way more painful than a smaller splinter, so my paper probably wants to tell us that our own problems weigh heavier. Meaning that if we pretend they are not there in order to help someone else first, they will only grow bigger and hold us back.
    Possibly, and this is a second theory, it’s not so much problems my paper is talking about, but flaws: if you cannot improve yourself, you can surely never improve someone else’s behaviour. Don’t be a hypocrite!

    best_wishes

  6. When you’re fifteen you aim at gaining knowledge, when you are thirty you are strong, when you’re forty you have no doubts left, when you are sixty your ears are open for the truth, and when you are seventy you can follow your heart without committing a sin

    I doubt we stop doing the one thing when we hit another age (meaning I am now thirty and am still aiming to gain more knowledge), but I am not forty yet so what do I know? Just kidding.
    Everyone is different, but this paper means that we all grow as a person and our focus in life changes with us as we grow older.

  7. I know when I know something. When I don’t know something, I admit I don’t know it

    Did you know admitting you don’t know something is easier than it sounds? I grew up in a household where I was not permitted to make mistakes (hence my perfectionism and an early tendency to deny all my mistakes – it didn’t work, by the way, the denial). If I didn’t know the answer to something, I was immediately called dumb or stupid, and even if nobody said so I felt it.
    You are not dumb for not knowing the answer to something. You are dumb for pretending you do. Stop faking it and embrace the fact it is utterly impossible to know everything. After all, Socrates said “The only true wisdom is knowing you know nothing.”

So much for making it easy on myself this week: some of these wisdoms actually made me think. After not having done so in a week, my head hurts!

Nah, not really.

I wish you all a good and prosperous week! And if you have any problems left, then let Ariana’s high-pitched voice in this week’s Earworm tear them apart (hopefully without damaging your eardrums too much).

Cheers!

16 thoughts on “Sunday Summary (Special Edition)

  1. I hope you are right Samantha that when you are seventy, you can follow you heart without committing a sin; as I am now 70. As for the music video, well Ariana Grande is ok; but the Contours from Motown are hard to beat. Check them out.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I hope my paper is right about that age, Bill ;) Ariana Grande is not okay, in my opinion. She annoys me with her high voice. Having said that, some of her songs are okay to work out on. I’ll check your blog in a minute! :) Am curious after your Christmas film, heheh.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I love “If you think everything’s working against you, think again”… needed that this week. Sometimes I feel like it’s me against the world, but that’s never really the case!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Those were some interesting–and very varied–pieces of wisdom. Number six made me wonder what happened to people at fifty. I’ll be that age in a couple of months, so I wanted to know what to expect. ;)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I admittedly had a lot of trouble when I was younger admitting I did not know something. Now it’s the complete opposite. I feel at ease expressing I don’t know it all. I just wish others had developed that ability over the years. I seem to be running into a lot of folks who think they have all the answers…and speaking of answers…there are a lot of good ones expressed in this special Special Edition!

    Liked by 1 person

Tell me what you think. Otherwise I'll assume you agree with me all the way! ;)

