Sunday Summary

Sunday Summary

(Week 45)

summary“An investment in knowledge pays the best interest”
– Benjamin Franklin –

You’ve probably guessed this week was a very busy one for me, considering I missed two blog-moments (sorry for that). But something one should never be too busy for is learning. Here’s the wisdom I picked up in week 45:

  1. Talking in a violent-less manner

    The post I did write last week was about how I had gone to an information day regarding a course in coaching, and they generally explained the concept of talking in a violent-less way. I put it to the test and it worked! I’m definitely intrigued and am going to find out more about this concept, whether or not I decide to take this specific course.

  2. Ask the Universe for a sign and you’ll get it

    I am not sure if I’ve ever mentioned this before in one of my summaries (I’ve written so many I forgot!), but it’s true. I aim to become a life coach, but was having doubts whether or not I’m coach-material and if this is something I really want to pursue after all. Then at the open day I mentioned above the founder explained the skill set one needs to become a life coach, and all I could think was: “Wow, I finally get to use my sociology background!” Everything she mentioned was a hit: observing, analysing, reporting… I’ve got it all! Plus, because the Universe knows I am a sceptic, after a mini workshop coach-talk the instructor told me she had heard me wrap my advice in a question, making it so the person I was coaching thought they had come up with a solution to their problem, while in fact I had handed it to them. This was a direct compliment and that’s when I knew: this is my thing.

  3. We only have the here and now

    One of the reason why I was too busy to blog is because I was visiting so many information/open days all over the country. On a Wednesday night I attended an NLP information night. NLP stands for Neuro Linguistic Programming, and it basically means that everything you think about is reflected in your manner somehow and thus shapes the world around you. It’s a lot deeper than that, but that’s the baseline.
    Even though it soon became clear to me NLP is not for me, something the instructor said made a lot of sense: “We only have the here and now. The past is gone and the future is unknown, we’ve got nothing else but right now.”
    That’s it. You can make plans for the future, but you don’t know how they’ll turn out until the future has arrived. You can hang on to the past, but what’s done is done. The only real thing we’ve got, time-wise, is the present.

  4. People aren’t “old”, they are “experienced”

    My Friday morning client’s son was at home and we talked a bit about his internship with an IT company. He said he and another younger guy had been reprimanded by the older staff, because they had called them exactly that: old. Since “the oldies” didn’t like the ring to that, my client’s son had opted for “experienced” instead. Of course, we all knew what he really means by that, but I thought it was a nice way to perceive life: instead of growing older, we grow more experienced.

  5. Sometimes you don’t know if what you’re doing is okay; but if the intention is right, just keep trying

    My illegal sister (the one I adopted during my trip to Canada) has been diagnosed with a very bad form of cancer. She’s started chemo therapy last Thursday and had sent me a text saying she was very scared to undergo the treatment.
    I had no idea what to write back, so I went down the familiar road: told her I know she’ll make it because she’s strong, that I’ll be there when she needs me, etcetera. Then I thought to myself: “this sucks. I’ve told her this a hundred times already, she doesn’t need to hear that sh*t any more.” I wondered, if I was in her position, what I’d need most. Eventually, I told her I’d stop saying the same things and would try to cheer her up instead. I’ve spammed her with videos of my favourite songs, hoping they would make her smile a bit. I sent her photos of cute animals when asking her how she’s doing.
    I am not sure if this is the right choice or very inappropriate, but she responds when she’s feeling okay and she hasn’t told me off yet, so I just keep on going. Maybe she finds me annoying, but even so: at least she’ll be distracted for a second.

  6. You’re too good to punish yourself

    I just read a post about comfort food (or actually, I guessed someone’s comfort food). Mine is peanut butter. And chocolate. Basically anything that’s high on sugar, tastes sweet and makes me feel fat and miserable right after I shove it in my mouth.
    I don’t know why I punish myself, often I feel there’s not even a reason I jam my spoon in the peanut butter jar, but I just… need it sometimes?
    During another fit, a voice in my head said: “You are too good to punish yourself”, and you know what? I am! And so are you. If you’re feeling down, that’s bad enough already. No need to add to the negativity by letting yourself go, only because you know it’ll make you feel worse and you think you deserve that. Do yourself a favour and choose to love yourself instead. Treat yourself to chocolate or peanut butter or whatever, but don’t ever use it to punish yourself for feeling low. You’re better than that. And you deserve better than that.

  7. Dear Universe: stop creeping me out! Okay, forget that and never stop leading me the right way. Here’s what my paper reads: I will let myself be guided by destiny, because I know that if I fight it, I will be dragged along

    best_wishesSo many questions in my head, so many doubts and fears. And then this note. It’s true: you can’t stop destiny from happening, so you better hop along and enjoy the ride. We’re all here for a reason, that I believe, and we can’t change that reason. So whatever happens in your life, stop trying to be different. You’re you, you do the things you do because you want the things you want. As long as you don’t intentionally hurt people during that process, don’t fight it and let your destiny take you to your destination (see what I’m doing here? Destiny-destination? I am so good – lol!)

Do you know what it’s like to be doing household chores while finding yourself singing/humming the same song over and over?

Here’s my household-chore-song, aka the Earworm Of The Week.

Cheers!

How was your week? Did anything special happen? What did you learn? :)

8 thoughts on “Sunday Summary

  1. You’re already a life coach, with posts like this. And that means something, coming from someone as … experienced as me. As much thought as I’ve devoted to it, I’m still uncertain whether I’m following a preordained path, or simply running out what fate produces with every twist and turn of a day.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for the compliment! D:
      I also wonder at times whether the choices I make are actually mine, or predestined. I mean, I don’t think the Universe set out what socks I’m wearing today, but the direction my life is going in… I can’t help but wonder to what extent my wishes and aspirations are my own as opposed to what I was meant to be doing.
      But then I decide that if it makes me happy, it doesn’t matter where it comes from. Thanks for stopping by! :)

      Liked by 1 person

Tell me what you think. Otherwise I'll assume you agree with me all the way! ;)

