Dictionary

Stiver (aka Making A Penny Can Leave You Feeling Worth Less Than A Stiver)

[Noun; ~Pronunciation: /stahy-ver/]

  • Definition: When you have been at work (think ironing clothes for nearly two hours), spent your afternoon doing grocery shopping, making tea for the family, cooking dinner, and your evening wondering if you have enough energy left for your blog. If that happens, you have done too much and are now not worth a stiver. Which is an English abbreviation of a Dutch saying, meaning you are so tired you cannot get anything else done. A stiver is the smallest possible amount of something, in my case, at this moment, it’s the smallest possible amount of energy.
stiver“Perseverance is the hard work you do after you get tired of doing the hard work you already did”
– Newt Gingrich –

“Wheel Of Fortune starts at eight and I have yet to write a blog post.”

Basically, my entire day’s worth of thinking was similar to this thought.
I have a new household client and she asked me if I minded staying longer to do her ironing. I didn’t, but as I was ploughing through her pile of clothes (two adults, two kids – so much work!) all I kept thinking was: “I have to finish this as fast as possible, I have yet to clean the whole house.” When I was working the living room, I kept reminding myself to hurry up as I had yet to do the rest of the house, and so on.

Then I got home and had to quickly eat lunch so me and my mother could go grocery shopping together. When we got back it was time for tea and guess who prepared that? Then before I knew it, it was time to start cooking dinner, and then… Well, here I am, tapping away at my keyboard.

Oh, and I also found out that because I had my window open to air my room, a lot of dust and dirt from my new neighbours’ house got blown in. The worst part isn’t even that they forwent to inform me they were going to do some serious scraping the walls, it’s that I spent two hours thoroughly cleaning my room on Monday… Everything that was cleaned yesterday is now covered in a thick layer of dirt -_-

My day was hectic and because of that I had no idea what to write about. What I do in cases of Dictionary-block: I search dictionary.com. I always use this website for the pronunciations at the top of these posts *pokes /stahy-ver/*, but I also love their Word Of The Day. I searched back a few days and came across stiver. It didn’t really sound that great, until I read the definition. Apparently it comes from the Dutch word “stuiver”, which was an old five cents piece (hence the picture).

There’s also a Dutch saying “Dat is nog geen stuiver waard”, meaning something is so bad or terrible, it’s not even worth a single stiver.

I feel like that, right now. Not because my self-esteem has faltered, don’t worry. But because I am so tired from running to and fro today, I am done.

I know I simply have to get into a new rhythm, and I will, just not today. Today, I didn’t even have enough energy to find a real pre-Euro stuiver for the picture, but you’re just going to have to forgive me for that.

That’s it. Three minutes left until Wheel Of Fortune starts. That’s just enough time to make a cup of tea and install myself on the sofa.

Have a good night, everyone!

Tell me what you think. Otherwise I'll assume you agree with me all the way! ;)

