Dictionary

Evanescent (aka This Too, Shall Pass)

[Adjective; ~Pronunciation: /ev-uh-nes-uh nt/]

  • Definition: Finding yourself subconsciously thinking the life phase you are currently in is eternal, as you did with every previous life phase. Nothing lasts forever, whether it is something good or something bad: things will change, as everything in life is evanescent.
“Human life is as evanescent as the morning dew or a flash of lightning”
– Samuel Butler –

However evanescent a bolt of lightning can be, one did manage to hit me. Metaphorically speaking, that is – otherwise I wouldn’t be typing this post.

I have problems with change: every year at the end of December I get a little gloomy because another year has passed and I don’t like the thought of having to meet up with a new one. It’s not like I want to die, it’s just… a strange feeling of sadness overcomes me when the year’s up.

The same thing happens when I outgrow a phase in my life or a new one starts. Sometimes, though, I am happy for a phase to end, such as the whole of 2015, which was just downright brutal to me, or my mom’s cancer or my own depression. Those are moments in my life I never want to have to go through again.

But thinking about it, I am sad my adventure as a Body Pump instructor has ended, I am sad we no longer gather around the TV to watch a silly show or a Disney movie, together as a family. I am sad we no longer go on family walks on Sunday or that I get to be the top rank nerd in elementary school.

My sadness is based on the silly thought that while I was unknowingly in the phase that would end, I’d always think it would last forever. And nothing does.

It is like being happy or depressed. I somehow always imagine this time it’s for all eternity. And then it ends (which in the case of feeling blue is a good thing).

Why do we feel that the situations we go through or the way we feel right now will last forever? That the people we are surrounded with will be there until the very end? Why do we take our lives the way they currently are for granted?

I don’t know the answer to that. Probably because at this moment, this is life for us. We might want change, we might even work towards that, but right now, this is life as we know it. And truth is: nobody knows what’s going to happen next.

But nothing lasts forever, not our time on Earth, nor anything in between. We make friends, we lose them. We find a job and we lose that, too. We gain knowledge which in the end we forget. We live and then we die.

Everything in life is subject to evanescence, and by this I don’t mean the band. I mean change through time.

So take a good look around you and ring up your total: do you like where you are right now in your life? Is your job satisfying? Is your partner making you happy? Are your hobbies fulfilling?

If the answer is yes, then make sure to enjoy your life to the fullest, as it will undoubtedly change one day, all without any sign or prediction.
If the answer is no, be relieved by the fact that tomorrow it could all be different.

I hope your answers are yes and that you, and me, won’t forget to appreciate what we have every now and then. It will be gone before we even know what happened.

Have a great week, everyone!

3 thoughts on “Evanescent (aka This Too, Shall Pass)

  1. Oh how I love this!! Im also at the point Im thinking about all of this. Im really busy with how I want to live the next years because now Im always sad about past things: why did this end? Why dont I do this anymore? But I just have to enjoy every minute of THIS day and then see what will be next. Thank you for your wise words, you write sooo good it really inspires me!! (All your blogposts)

    Liked by 1 person

Tell me what you think. Otherwise I'll assume you agree with me all the way! ;)

