Sunday Summary

Sunday Summary (aka I Had Another Very Busy Weekend)

(Week 34)

summary“The older I grow, the more I distrust the familiar doctrine that age brings wisdom”
– H. L. Menken –

This time it was a fun yet busy weekend that kept me from posting my summary on time. Still, there’s always Mondays or Tuesdays to make up for them ;)

  1. You are your own legend

    I read The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho. Devoured it in two days flat. The story tells of a young man who sets out to find his treasure, and along the way learns to read the signs the Universe hands him in order to complete his quest. He learns people can write their own legend.
    I know this book is fiction, but still. The thought behind it is very nice and comes quite close to what I believe is out there, too. Plus, it gives me some relief to know all I need to do to find out what my goal in life is, is follow the signs.

  2. The real losers in life are the people who always win

    Think about it: if you always have to win and cannot take a loss, then who’s the real loser in any situation? One of my sisters is like this: always comparing her life to others and finding excuses for herself to pretend hers is better. Always better. I can’t imagine living like this. Life is hard enough already, imagine always having to come out on top, no matter what you do. It is impossible to excel in everything, so better get a realistic view and let go of some of that constant pressure. You don’t always have to be the best, as long as you always try to be the best you, that’s all you need in order to really win.

  3. It is okay to joke around instead of always being serious and to-the-point

    When I went to the supermarket last Tuesday I forgot to bring my mother’s store card. I was too lazy to go back home and fetch it, and decided if anyone asked if I had one, I’d just say ‘no’ instead of going through the trouble of explaining.
    Eventually, when the check-out lady asked me the foreseen question, I couldn’t help but jokingly reply: “I do have one, yes. At home.”
    The store employee continued by asking me my zip code and home address number, and punched that into her computer. Result: I still managed to get bonus points without bringing the actual card. The conclusion here is that it’s okay to be human. I always tell myself I try too hard to be the perfect costumer, and all people want to hear is a simple yes or no. But it turns out it’s okay to say more than that.

  4. It’s okay not to go out for a few days

    My parents are still on holiday and of course I had plans to meet up with friends, but in the weekends mostly. I love being at home, not having to go somewhere, not feeling the pressure to do anything else but lie in the sun and read books (like The Alchemist, for instance). A friend asked me if I was lonely, and the answer to that is: yes. Of course I am lonely, but that’s got nothing to do with my parents not being here or me not going out. I’ve been lonely for nearly three decades. In fact, I think I am the queen of loneliness and even if sometimes I do feel sad about that, I think in general I’ve grown quite immune to being alone.
    For now, being alone equals peace. Not a lot, because my mind is still working over hours, but at least nobody is shouting or drilling or playing loud music when I am reading or studying Icelandic.
    Honestly, parents. They are so much worse than teenagers when it comes to making noise.

  5. My house is haunted

    My first night alone I heard faint sounds coming from the hallway. I was in my room and I swear it sounded as if someone was ascending the stairs. When my parents are home, this makes perfect sense to my brains and I barely even notice the fuss, but now that I am home alone I suddenly notice a lot of noises being made by… no one. There was nobody on the stairs, there was nobody slamming the doors a few minutes later, this afternoon I even heard a distinct banging sound, as if someone was kicking the door to the hallway, and I even heard someone call out my name once. But of course, there was never anything or anyone there.
    Then, to top it all off, when I was lying in bed listening to music on my iPod, I had placed its case on my right-hand side. But when I wanted to put my iPod away again the case had gone missing! Now, my bed is set against a wall with a radiator and I am not the most sit/lie-still kind of person, so I thought maybe my iPod case had slipped in between the radiator and the wall.
    I ended up nearly breaking down half of my room in order to find the case, but it’s disappeared. Gone. It can’t be anywhere else, but I haven’t found it yet. It’s not under my bed, it’s not under the mattress, the covers, in between the stuff I stored under my bed. It’s vanished.
    And I swear I could hear someone laugh when I was searching…

  6. It is possible to watch too much TV

    Maybe this has something to do with number five, but all I know is after binge-watching season six of The Walking Dead, all of a sudden I see zombies everywhere. I mean, I know they’re not zombies, but my mind gives me a zombie-signal every time I see the back of someone walking down the street. Especially when they seem to be moving in not such a straight line and/or are wearing clothes that dance to the wind, like open blouses or wide T-shirts. My brains simply go like this, in one nanosecond flat: 1) A ZOMBIE! 2) Oh right…
    It’s like Pokémon Go, but different, I guess. Maybe it’s a good thing season seven hasn’t come out yet.

  7. Paper-wisdom-time! In your imagination, you are the richest person in the world. If you have a quarter, you’ll say: “now I have a million!”

    I’m not exactly sure how this is going to help me, because I don’t really like money (at least not what having loads of it does to most people), but I guess what it means to me right now is not to worry too much. Which is exactly what I do, because I still haven’t found a job, so my income decreases slowly but steadily, and I’ve got nothing coming in to balance it off.
    So I am more than willing to imagine my quarters being millions, but I am slightly anxious not everyone will share that feeling. Especially not when I’m paying for something… Hmhmm.

That’s it for week 34. This weekend I’ve only got one thing planned: picking up my parents. And that’s not on Sunday, so I’ll have no excuse for not being on time with my summary this week (unless when I fall ill, but let’s hope that won’t happen).

As usual, I’ll end with the Earworm Of The Week. After having to answer loneliness-questions this week, this song has been stuck in my head for days. I think it’s beautiful and a bit sad, and I also think I could be it: the Queen of Elba.

Enjoy!

7 thoughts on “Sunday Summary (aka I Had Another Very Busy Weekend)

  1. I clicked on the video and it said not available in my country. So I did an internet search and picked it up elsewhere. Not bad, but I am still looking of more video’s like the “Helikopter”

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, well, if you are so hung up over that song, try youtubing Gebroeders Ko, they made that song and I’m sure they have tons of similar songs to add to their discography.

      Like

  2. If “being alone equals peace,” are you really lonely? Some people can be lonely in a crowd, so I think its OK to be alone and not lonely. But, then, if the house is haunted, I guess you’re not alone. J.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. sigh. another weekend/I can’t help but concurrently type ‘weakened’ — but that’s just a goof. I find that my so-cauld(ron) blo(r)g is a chronicle-ization (how the ferf da’ spel the “ization” of chronicle?) of the day. I go for weeks without anything to type/write/post — then go off and do something sorta (jes’ “sorta”?) stoopyd and “I’ll write about that!” — like yesterday, on a futile tough hike (the dogs had fun …) I thought of an appropriate title for the exercise. (muted drummroll4M-fa-siss): coming soon!
    but this time I (still?) “agree with (you) all the way! :) “

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You can type “weakened”, for that’s how I’ve been feeling for a while now :p But yes, I get it. Sometimes nothing pops into your head to write about and sometimes you seem to be overflowing with ideas.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. hopefully YOU are ‘overflowing’! your cup and the runneth part — whereas my diminutive tea-cup may sometimes have a bit o’ condensation in it (conDENSE ay shun?) — but like you, the alchemist was an XXX sell ent read !

        Liked by 1 person

Tell me what you think. Otherwise I'll assume you agree with me all the way! ;)

