Dictionary

Eternal (aka To Infinity And Beyond!)

[Adjective; ~ Pronunciation: /ih-tur-nl/]

  • Definition: Everlasting, without a beginning or end, something that has no limits and lasts forever. True love, possibly.
“True love is eternal, infinite, and always like itself. It is equal and pure, without violent demonstrations: it is seen with white hairs and is always young in the heart”
– Honore de Balzac –

The same people who don’t understand why I am still single are the people I do not understand for finding a partner. More than often it seems to me they did not choose each other out of love or interest, but merely because they needed to have someone. It’s like they have settled for a mediocre option.

I’m not saying this is true in all cases, but I suspect it is so for the majority of the people who give me a hard time about being single.

I have been thinking about their nosy inquisitions and I think I finally understand this part of myself, the why I am so difficult about finding a partner.
Here’s the honest truth: I don’t want to settle, not in love. I don’t want to be with someone just because I should, I want to be with someone because I cannot be without them.

Those people in the picture are my grandparents. My grandmother died eighteen years ago and my grandfather followed her three years later. I’ve said this many times before: they are sacred to me. I love them so much that even after all this time I find myself missing them terribly, and I wish I could give everything I own to just spend one more minute with them.

They are locked in my heart, forever and beyond, and even if I wanted to (why would I ever?), I’d not be able to cut them out. They own a piece of my heart.

And they are not the only ones.

When it comes to love and affection I am overly picky and careful; too many times have people turned out to be dishonest, disloyal and sometimes downright cruel, stomping on my heart or even crushing it to pieces, because they could. Because I let them.

But there’s a handful of people, animals too, who have masterfully and silently grabbed hold of my heart. They are the ones I keep locked inside and miss every day, no matter how many days pass. They are the ones I still think and dream about, no matter if they are not on this planet any more.

The love I feel for them is eternal and I know for a fact it’s the same for them.

To answer the question of anyone who wonders why I am still single: I want someone to love long after death has parted us, someone who’s special enough to lock in my heart forever. Someone that’s worth adding to that short list of amazing people I can’t help but care about, for all eternity.

And I will never settle for anything less.

16 thoughts on “Eternal (aka To Infinity And Beyond!)

  1. I think it is always best not to get married too young, since people are still growing and changing. Yes, they may grow together, but they are just as likely to grow apart.

    The selection of a significant other is one of the most important decisions a person can make, since your choice can either raise you up or bring you down.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I don’t even think about marriage, I stopped caring. I just want someone to make me feel at ease, and know we’ll be good together. I truly believe some people settle to settle, and no more. Having said that, there’s also people in my surroundings who seem a perfect match.

      Liked by 2 people

  2. I love this! I refuse to settle with someone just to not be alone, I feel that my mother did that and now shes miserable, and a few friends are with guys who treat them like garbage just to say they have a guy. I would rather be single.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s worse when you have a single friend who finds a partner: then they suddenly become expert, full of “helpful advice”, if not a whole list of men (they apparently didn’t have before?) whom they can set you up with.
      It almost literally makes me sick, you know. And sort of adamant to just stay single then, if only to upset them.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I hope you find someone you could have the strong persona to be locked in your heart forever. You know I think answers are usually in front of us, we just rarely notice them. I am just like you in this matter, I don’t want meaningless time pass and to be with someone just so we can have someone. Being an Indian marriage by the time a girl is 26-27 is a must but I couldn’t agree. All my school/college mates are married or getting married and few even have kids but I just can’t!! Finally I did find someone who is down right perfect for me. It took me time and lot of inner battle (you know right?) but I got there. I know in my heart that you will too, just don’t give up dear. :)

    You are one amazing girl.
    Have a great day.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I always felt I was a lost cause, you know. Everyone around me is settling down and here I am, still alone. Plus of course the crap feeling some people give you about being single, although I know it’s BS it does get to me sometimes. But when I think of the love I’ve shared with several amazing people, I’m sure it’s possible to find that in a man one day, and him in me. What can I say, I suppose I’m just a hopeless romantic :p

      Like

      1. being hopeless romantic is much better then settling down “just because”…

        talk about seeing others settle and have kids.. I am 28 now and all my friends are married and almost everyone is blessed with a child or two or three!

        Don’t get me wrong, I love kids! My sister’s daughter is the apple of my eyes.. But I am looking forward to living right now. I know getting married maybe important but its not the only thing in life. Getting married to someone you love is absolutely different and beautiful then to marry because you have to..

        So as far as I know, you are a cool woman! You rock and you have fun. Don’t let the buggers get you down! ;) Stay cool…

        love
        hema

        Like

Tell me what you think. Otherwise I'll assume you agree with me all the way! ;)

