Sunday Summary

Sunday Summary (Special Edition)

(Week 31)

summary_special“Music expresses that which cannot be said and on which it is impossible to be silent”
– Victor Hugo –
&&&
“Without music, life would be a mistake”
– Friedrich Nietzsche –

The first Sunday Summary of August is not just a special edition, it’s a very special edition! The topic for this one came to me by ear, literally, as I’ve been feeling a bit low the past few weeks, but what always helps to make me feel better is music.

So here I present to you my ten favourite, always-cheer-me-up, never-able-to-listen-to-without-singing-along songs (I tried sticking to seven, but honestly: that was just a no go). Most of them have already been featured here as an Earworm Of The Week, but I really don’t care. They’re too happy to not use again :)

  1. Love Today
    My all-time favourite! (The record still stands at four, by the way. During the fourth time I cannot help but sing along, no matter how sh*t I feel).

  2. Shut Up And Dance
    Despite the title, it’s impossible to shut up when you hear this one. Or clap along. Or dance around. Or combine the three. Just saying.

  3. Uptown Funk!
    I could hear this song 1,000 times a day and still love it! It used to be a Body Pump song for the chest, and I swear my class and I couldn’t keep quiet during the workout, even if they made it last for over five minutes. Nothing that came before or after this BP 95 chest song even compared.

  4. Take On Me (The Zumba Version)
    Let’s stay with my beloved workouts for a bit, shall we? ;) I know for a fact this one was an Earworm Of The Week, because once you hear it it’s impossible to stop hearing it! Plus, the dance is über-awesome, especially when performed by a full class! A-ha!

  5. We Don’t Run
    This song is great to sing-shout along to when you’re upset with someone and want to leave your bitter feelings somewhere you never have to be bothered by them ever again (say, for instance, Banff). Bon Jovi, thanks for this one!

  6. Goodness Gracious
    Ha ha, I’ll let you in on a little secret: this song comes right after We Don’t Run on my iPod. It’s also the second song that helped me get things in perspective in Canada, I put it after number five on the track list I made to use in my car, so it only makes sense to put it on this position in this list. Basically, after getting your angry feelings out with WDR, this one’s good to regain some inner peace and calmness (when I sing it, I sing it to myself, because sometimes I feel I don’t really get myself – I want to be me, but often I feel lost).

  7. Shake It Off
    So I am not a fan of Taylor Swift, but I love this song! The beat is happy, the lyrics are kind of funny, and it’s great to dance on. Like Uptown Funk! I cannot ever get enough of this one.

  8. Send My Love (To Your New Lover)
    This song is great to do some cooling down movements on (or yoga, basically. I found out most stretches used are yoga movements). It’s a non-aggressive, mellow “I am so over you”-song, which also covers the whole “I am so much more awesome than you”-feeling you ought to have after a break-up or stood-up. Kudos to you, Adele, for this one! (And Max Martin, apparently).

  9. Talk About You
    What can I say? Mika will forever be my favourite artist and he makes the happiest songs ever, so it’s only fair he’s on here twice. This song is so simple, but so so so very sweet, it always leaves me with a smile on my face. Imagine someone thinking this way about you (Plus, there’s a panda in the video!).

  10. Addicted To A Memory
    I already blogged how I think any excuse to use this song is a good one, so here it is again! The build-up is great, the finale is even better, and the ending is so small it’s just cute. Plus, it was a shoulder-work-out-song for Body Pump 96, which was the last one I experienced as an instructor, and it changed my opinion of training your shoulders completely (aka I started to love it!).
    I always end my musical ride with this one, since it’s difficult to find a song to top it, and today it stars as the grande finale of my Sunday Summary.

I know I am not the only one out there who feels down and beat every now and then. I read blogs this week of others who were feeling low, and what I hope is that this post will help you get a smile back on your face, increase your happiness, and maybe even change the way you view the world right now. Music can do that for you, you know. Even if, like me, you cannot keep a tune or make music yourself. Just listening to it can boost your spirits.

I used to believe happiness was fake, as I would somehow always revert to feeling depressed. But it works both ways, you know. You might feel low now, but there’s always tomorrow or the day after that, and you will feel better in the end! Know that day will come, no matter what. You just have to stick it out.

In the mean time, I hope this list might help you a little. And if not these songs, then the ones you love :)

Oh, and if you are looking for an Earworm Of The Week: just go through this list again. I’m sure you’ll find one of the songs to take over your  brains within no time, if not all of them, muahaha!

6 thoughts on “Sunday Summary (Special Edition)

  1. I do want to add that I really liked the idea of embedding all these songs into your blog. Sometimes a short song can speak volumes, sort of like what a picture can do. Good work Samantha.

    Liked by 1 person

Tell me what you think. Otherwise I'll assume you agree with me all the way! ;)

