Dictionary

Decision (aka Introducing A Cure For “Decision-Stress”)

[Noun; ~ Pronunciation: /dih-sizh-uh n/]

“In any moment of decision, the best thing you can do is the right thing, the next best thing is the wrong thing, and the worst thing you can do is nothing”
Theodore Roosevelt –

My parents are buying a new car. That is to say, they are in the process of going around different showrooms to see what they like. The funny thing is, my father wants something like the one he has now (a Seat Ibiza, for those who are curious), and my mother is looking for something more her size (like her current Daihatsu Cuore).

You see, my father’s retired and doesn’t really need a car to drive to work any more, and my parents are looking to trade both of their cars in and get a new one together. But the decision-making process is a tedious one, because they both have different wants and expectations, and what also doesn’t help is the wide range of choice (and options); it’s not like it’s an easy task to pick a winner.

This all got me thinking. Life consists of making decisions and when there’s too many choices involved you can get stressed and anxious, not knowing what to do.

At the moment I am finding it difficult to choose the next path to go on: do I find myself another crappy job to save up for another amazing trip, do I find myself a crappy job overseas so I can finally move out, do I go back to school instead or should I not worry about getting a job and just move out, turning the process around (as, clearly, the way I’ve been handling my professional life thus far hasn’t worked).

I fall back into blaming myself for not being able to come up with a solution, for not being able to find a job that’s somehow remotely linked to what I did in college (sociology), and for still being “stuck” at home, nearing 30, and no step further onto being out on my own.

In times of great despair (and trust me, when you start having panic/cry attacks about a decision, it’s time to start calling it that) I dream of my grandmother.

In my dream she told me to take a few steps back. Even though I learned “patience is key”, I am a very impatient person by nature and I feel as if I’m wasting my life. It’s frustrating, as I am in that period of life in which all my friends are settling down, finding jobs, buying houses, and I am still utterly lost. I feel as if I desperately need to catch up in order to prove myself.

But my grandmother soothed my cries and told me it’d be okay. I’d see my forest again once I stopped staring at all those trees.

So here is the cure for decision-stress: relax, take it easy! If you’re on the brink of making an important decision, it’s okay to sleep on it. Rash decisions never did anyone any good, anyway.

And if, like me, you are lost, just stand still for a while and orientate. Find out where you are first, before moving into any direction.

Just like my parents with their future car, I have some decisions to make. But just like my parents, I’ll make the right one and be okay, I am sure of it. I’m just going to have to sleep on it a bit longer.

10 thoughts on “Decision (aka Introducing A Cure For “Decision-Stress”)

  1. Samantha, I wish you the best on making your decision; however, please don’t sleep on it too long. Over the years, I have found people prefer a bad decision to no decision. And also making no decision, is in fact a decision; just not a good one. :)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks, Bill. But sleeping on it is hard for me, I am too impatient. I’m sure something will cross my path, but forcing an important decision out of someone who’s confused and lost is not right. I need my time, I never gave myself any and that’s led to never undertaking anything :s

    But rest assured I’m not planning on sleeping on it for years to come ;)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s not that simple. I don’t even know where to look for answers anymore! Completely stuck and it feels like ever time I come up with a way to go, my research into that direction puts me right back to where I am. If I had options I could go for, I’d definitely take this advice, but all I can see is failure, dead ends, and nothingness. I’ll be okay, though. But I have to stop being frustrated first.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. For people seeking direction for their lives, I suggest three questions: What do you enjoy doing? What do people tell you that you do well? What needs do you see around you that must be addressed? When your answers to the three questions become similar, you are approaching a decision. J.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. For me, if all the outcomes are gloomy, I will take the option of the most uncertainty, for that one at least stands a chance of being radically different.

    Like

Tell me what you think. Otherwise I'll assume you agree with me all the way! ;)

