Dictionary

Insouciant (aka I Need A Little More Hakuna Matata In My Life)

[adjective; ~ Pronunciation: /in-soo-see-uh nt/]

  • Definition: Insouciant means you are all about “hakuna matata”. You have no fears, anxieties and no concerns. Life is a breeze for you, and you couldn’t be more worry-free. I’m not sure about any of you, but a) I am not insouciant at all myself, and b) I don’t know anyone else that is. Is it a myth? Or can we actually learn to put our worries to rest?
“Worry never robs tomorrow of its sorrow, it only saps today of its joy”Leo Buscaglia

Having no worries… is that like reaching Nirvana (and I don’t mean the band)?

I was pondering what to write about today, but I knew it would most likely be about worrying since I seem to do nothing else these days. Then I came across this beautiful word, a previous “word of the day” on Dictionary.com, and I knew I had found myself a winner! What better way to write about concerns and troubles of the mind than by calling your post insouciant?

In this post I describe how I picture my mind like a big conference room and how I felt like it was ran over by all kinds of thoughts due to stress (fun fact: I actually used a scene from Disney’s The Lion King to top that post, and I just used “hakuna matata” for this one).

Stress takes on different forms, and just when you think you’ve gotten rid of one, it comes back in another. My mind is currently the object of many worries, mainly the fear of losing someone dear.

Maybe this needs a little more explanation. Remember I wrote about my mother hurting both of her knees? Well, her knees are slowly getting better, but then she got hit by a vicious case of the stomach flu, which kept her bedridden for another day or two. And right after she recovered from that, she strained her back while making her bed.

And she’s not the only injured one. In fact, practically my entire family is out of the running. During his weekly walk, my father pulled a muscle in his calf and had to stumble home. I managed to overburden my right wrist, making typing, writing, driving a car, and breathing excruciatingly painful experiences.

To top it all off, my eldest sister called last night and told us she’s got some weird kind of itchy rash covering her body.

I say we’re doomed.

Well, probably not. But it does make you wonder. About what could happen next, and about how the others are doing, and about how you are possibly going to chop up those vegetables using the knife with your left hand…

A worry is like a snowball: once you have one, it rolls downhill and keeps getting bigger and bigger, adding more concerns to the pile. Now is the time to reverse that cycle, by smashing the snowball to smithereens!

Explain to yourself worries are fake: they are all about things that might or might not happen, but not about the here and now. Tell yourself worries drain energy but do little to enhance your life in any way. Start looking at what’s really happening and give up on thinking about potential disasters. Finally, trust you will act adequately when disaster does strike, it will help calm your nerves and clear your mind of fearsome thoughts.

Set this process in motion and try to make yourself worry-free. Become insouciant.

And maybe find the Nirvana while at it.

19 thoughts on “Insouciant (aka I Need A Little More Hakuna Matata In My Life)

    1. It must be something in the weather, then. I hear many people complain, lol. Right now I worry I might have caught the flu off a friend… -_- Stupid brains, I need a button to switch them off!

      Like

  1. God grant me the serenity
    to accept the things I cannot change;
    courage to change the things I can;
    and wisdom to know the difference.

    Perhaps Insouciant comes with age, but I don’t recall worrying that much even when I was young. So perhaps it comes from being superficial :) I suspect people are as worry free as they wish to be, much like happiness.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I always think if I worry about someone, it’s a sign I care for them. And I am over-protective when it comes to my family, my parents especially. And things are not going well in the health department, haha, so it’s easy for negative thoughts such as “mum/dad/W’s probably gonna die soon” to ruin my day. Plus, my desire to enjoy life more makes this worse: what if I don’t appreciate my parents enough and they pass away suddenly?
      I know, I am weird.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Concern for the health and well-being of one’s parents, family and friends is perfectly natural, at least up to a point. Anything in excess, even good things is harmful. I was thinking more in terms of the everyday worries that many people have.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Samantha – I think you need to get a handle on worry. Here is a great idea to remember, “Worry doesn’t take away tomorrow’s troubles, it takes away today’s peace.” It is a total waste of time. If you can excise it from your life, you will be way better off. At the risk of sounding like a spammer, check out this post on my blog: http://guysandgoodhealth.com/2011/05/10/some-tools-for-handling-stress/ I wrote it four years ago, but it is excellent. Good luck!

    Like

    1. (Sorry it took so long to approve your post – my app won’t let me scroll down longer comments and I’ve been very poorly all last week).

      Thank you for the link, Tony, I will make sure to check it out! Funny thing about worries is, they all disappear when you get the flu. Then nothing matters except feeling better. Makes you wonder about your mental state of health when you’re not ill :p

      Liked by 2 people

  3. Interesting that a word that means “worry-free” and “without stress” should be so difficult to spell. I can see “insouciant” causing anxiety, nightmares and nervous breakdowns among pre-test high school students around the world.

    Liked by 1 person

Tell me what you think. Otherwise I'll assume you agree with me all the way! ;)

