Sunday Summary

Monday’s Making Up For A Missed Sunday Summary

(Week 12)

sunday_summary_new“The time for action is now. It’s never too late to do something”Antoine de Saint-Exupery

So I was too tired yesterday to post my summary in time… Who really cares? We’ve all been busy celebrating Easter and getting high (or at least a little fatter) on chocolate eggs any way! ;)

But, a week is a week and a summary is a summary, so here’s what I learned during the past seven days:

  1. Nothing important in life should require money. I was watching TV (like I do anything else – oh right, I work out) and saw a short documentary on child rheumatism. I ended up wondering how it is possible we are living in the twenty-first century and an illness such as this (and many others) are still without a cure. That years and years after my childhood, we still use phrases such as: “We are close to a cure, but we need more money. Please donate and help these poor, innocent children.”
    How come we live in a world were practically everything is possible, even finding a cure for a specific type of lung cancer, but all we focus on is money? The cancer cure I’m talking about was on the news a while back. It’s highly effective and much less heinous than chemo and/or radiation therapy, but the hospitals in the Netherlands can’t afford to buy it because the price is so high. When asked about this, one of the spokespersons said that the research and trouble that went into finding and creating this cure are worth asking so much money for. That this means only filthy rich people can afford it didn’t seem to bother them.
    And so we let people suffer, die even, because money is more important than a human being’s life. Seriously, what’s wrong with us!?
  2. In addition to last week’s summary: you don’t always have to think. Last week I learned it’s okay to be quiet if you feel grumpy or if you simply have nothing to say. This week I learned it’s okay if you don’t have thoughts in your head. It’s very uncommon, though, not thinking. But if you’re stuck with silly, meaningless thoughts that make no sense and are not helpful or informative in any way, it’s okay to shut them down. Focus on what you’re doing at that exact moment (I was brushing my teeth when I started wondering about… I think it was an ex-boyfriend mixed with nightmares I’ve been having about my trip to Canada – I constantly dream I get on the wrong plane!), and your useless thoughts will stop.
  3. The Secret. That’s right. Twenty-two pages into what’s probably going to turn out to be a very strange and over-spiritual (read: head-up-in-the-clouds-never-coming-down-oh-look-everyone-I-quote-agrees-with-me-you-should-too) book, I already learned the secret of life. Oh, I’m sorry, I meant The Secret with capital letters. Are you ready for it? It is: attraction. Apparently, we are all “antennas” in the Universe, and all the thoughts we send out (or up, actually) will become reality. Or reflect onto our life. So thinking you’re the worst person in the world will lead you to be very under-appreciated by others, but thinking about being a rich businessman will lead to great financial gain and power.
    I’ve yet to read the part about where you put in effort to get grade A’s rather than just think about it.
    Also, please note a generous dash of sarcasm sprinkled over this part of the summary. It’s all good and well, visualising good things will happen to you (I do believe in that), but it can’t be the secret of life. Oh, sorry, I meant The Secret with capital letters. Because we all know capital letters make things seem More Important Than They Are.
  4. You don’t always have to explain yourself to others. This is so sad: apparently, four months ago someone contacted me through facebook to ask if she could personally hire me as a cleaner. A little extra info: it was a client I worked for once or twice when her regular help was ill. She’s not old or disabled, but the new regulations mean she can no longer get her help for a cheap price through local governmental institutions. She went through enough trouble to track me down on social media and send me a message asking for my services. A message she sent in December. A message I read last week.
    Unfortunately, because we’re not facebook-friends, her request got stored in a secondary inbox and I didn’t receive a prompt from FB to go check (they send me prompts for just about anything, but not for this). I’m also hardly ever on facebook lately, before last week the last time I logged on was somewhere in November, so I wouldn’t have read it in time any way.
    A part of me felt so bad about this situation, though, I wanted to message her back ASAP and explain why I never responded, but a bigger part of me just wanted to let it go. It’s nothing but a miscommunication and even if she’s upset about not hearing back from me, it’s okay. I don’t need the entire world to like me. Plus, I think I’d only make it more awkward if I’d reply four months late with a lame “I’m sorry, I only just now got your message.” And maybe this is for the best, as I wouldn’t have worked for her any way. Oh well.
  5. I rather be good at driving and bad at parking than the other way around. I can’t park. There, I’ve said it! If it’s just straight up parking, I’m fine, but parallel parking is a whole different story (although last week I had it in one go – not lying!).
    The thing is, I see a spot and I KNOW my car will fit there! I KNOW! But then there’s steering wheel-turning involved, and my car always seems so much bigger from the inside than from the outside, and I’m scared I’ll hit someone else’s vehicle, and then I get nervous… It’s just mayhem. But it’s okay. Because you can’t be good at everything and at least I am a decent driver. So I repeat and rest my case with: I am happy being a good driver and a bad parker.
  6. You can never make tough decisions for someone else. You can only support them. Sometimes I drive myself crazy, always wanting to help people, always feeling like I need to hand them solutions to all their problems, whatever they may be, on a silver platter. Always pretending to be a wise expert on everything. But I’m not. Sometimes I can’t help someone, because the choices they face are tough and life-changing, and me meddling can only do harm. It’s their life and they need to figure it out for themselves. If they ask me for advice I’ll try and help them, but I can’t decide whether or not they should quit their job and go back to school or stay on and climb the career ladder. I can’t break up with their boyfriend for them or decide which house to buy. I simply can’t. What I can and will do is be there for my friends, catch them when things go bad or stand beside them cheering when things go well.
  7. Paperrrrr! This week’s slip reads: You realise you cannot escape your eventual death and that bad behaviour will attract harm in a next life. You will not convert to bad behaviour so as to preserve universal happiness.
    Okay, this is karma spelled differently. I don’t believe I could ever be a bad person (although my sister seems to be convinced her daughter might become a psychopath in later years – she makes great evil noises – and I’ve already said I’ll support her and will team up with my niece when the time is right). Honestly, if I give one plant more water than another, I feel guilty for the rest of the day. I don’t think I have it in me to become evil. Plus, I am never coming back in a next life. Na-ah. I am done after this one. So no preserving universal happiness for me. Sharing happiness with others is what I’m after :)
    best_wishes

That’s it for this week’s belated summary and this year’s Easter! I hope you all had a great weekend and I wish you a happy week 13!

As usual I’ll leave you with the Earworm Of The Week, and this time it’s nothing less than the Zumba-version of Take On Me! It’s been stuck in my head since Wednesday (Zumba-day), and I actually found a video with the routine!! :D

So, so fun!

Cheers! :)

23 thoughts on “Monday’s Making Up For A Missed Sunday Summary

  1. Samantha, although you have prepared for us an extraordinary meal, it is a bit much to digest in one sitting–at least for me. However, I am extremely grateful for all the effort you put into this meal. I am going to wrap up what I wasn’t able to finish and place it in the refrigerator. I am sure I will be hungry later and will come back to it. You are an extraordinary chef. Thank you so much for going to the trouble of preparing this meal for us. I even checked out the video, which was very cool.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. So are our antenna’s just hidden? I think it’s a good metaphor, so we only are attracted to other people (looks or personality wise) when our antenna is tuned to that specific thing? So when we are seeking a mate, that frequency becomes important? And when we are trying to find a good co-worker or friend that frequency is being tuned?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Okay, so I have had a celebratory Easter gin, tonic and cucumber on an empty stomach πŸ˜ƒ but am giggling internally re this – “my sister thinks her kid will become a psychopath!”. I am not sure why, but I find this absolutely hilarious.

    Oh and re your point 4 – we should NEVER have to explain our actions to others. My (sort of) motto is that we should lead our lives unapologetically how we want to. Which means that I want to be relatively decent / respectful / a good person, but if people disagree with my choices….well, too bad!

    Thanks again for posting some great and thought provoking words. πŸ˜ƒ

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Haha, my niece is super duper cute, so I find it hilarious, too. But she sometimes does make very psycho-like sounds and is known to pull evil faces, so who knows :p

    I totally agree with you. I feel like I shouldn’t ever have to say sorry for being myself.

    Thanks for dropping by! Enjoy your drink ;)

    Like

  5. It may be the high from the Easter candy talking but this summary was well worth the “wait.” Really enjoyed reading your journey the last week…and I do feel that caps for each word definitely makes anything More Important (Than It Really Is!).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Maybe this is a sign from the Universe I should start eating more chocolate again! :D
      Oh wait, judging from my skin probably not :p Thanks for stopping by, Bruce. Hope you had a great Easter!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I’m not sure about The Secret. I’ve been thinking about unblocking the drain in my balcony for ages, but it’s still clogged. Maybe my messages to the universe have not been getting through. I’m worried that I might be an analog antenna in a world that’s gone digital.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Apparently you have to FEEL that what you wish to happen. And be grateful for it. Really, really FEEL the drain unclogging. If it doesn’t work, it’s because you have splinters of doubt in your thoughts (so says chapter two).

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Samantha, regarding your #1; there is little doubt the world’s health care delivery system needs major improvement and there is also little doubt that the world’s lifestyles need major improvement. Here in the USA, too many people smoke as well as eat and drink too much and exercise too little.

    As for #2, sounds like the makings of an interesting novel.

    You are right on the money about The Secret, the easy fix. The folks who go for this and other philosophies like it just aren’t into effort. I’ve read the book. I think when one tries something they become more aware of assistance available to them, but you have to make an effort yourself.

    Henry Ford II (From Detroit, which is where I’m from) used to say, “Never complain, never explain. I suspect he would agree with you on #4

    I’ll stop now, but I really enjoyed this post. Thanks for sharing your thoughts

    Liked by 1 person

Tell me what you think. Otherwise I'll assume you agree with me all the way! ;)

