Sunday Summary

Sunday Summary

(Week 10)

sunday_summary_new“We keep moving forward, opening new doors, and doing new things, because we’re curious and curiosity keeps leading us down new paths”Walt Disney

It’s always nice to be back writing a classic summary. Almost as nice as coming up with a special edition ;)

Here’s what I learned in the last seven days:

  1. Everything is unprofessional. I switched gyms a week ago and when I did the lady I signed up with gave me a tour. It all looked very lovely, very tight and clean, just the way I like it. There are clear house rules and I know it sounds weird, but if you want to make me happy, just give me a list of rules to comply to. As long as they make sense and you do your part making sure everyone sticks to them, I’m game!
    During the tour the lady explained to me how the group lessons system works: you sign up for live classes by paying an extra monthly fee and in return you can check in at the counter prior to any live class to receive a token, which you later have to hand in to the class instructor.
    I was in heaven.
    My first group exercise class was Saturday last week. I was happily waving my wooden token around, but the instructor didn’t care two cents for it. Literally anyone could have joined that class, with or without paying the extra fee.
    You see, you can look all smart and slick, but that’s the outside. If the inside of your organisation is a mess, you’re just as unprofessional as your neighbours. It’s nice that you’ve got all these tight rules, but what’s the use of listing them if you don’t obey them yourself?
    I am adamant to a) complain about it every time someone doesn’t collect my token and b) keep on getting and handing in tokens. If you have a system, I’ll be the one who keeps it up. That’s what us OCD-ers are for :)
  2. Your hair changes every seven years. I knew our taste changes every good seven years or so, and our bones renew themselves over the course of… five years? Something like that. But I didn’t know our hair changes, too. And I don’t mean that it grows (duh), but I am talking about texture, thickness, wavy versus straight. And not obvious changes either, but slight ones. But differences nonetheless. Hm, I wonder what I’ll end up with in… five and a half years!
  3. Other people’s insecurities are contagious. I wrote this post about my pale skin and feeling growingly insecure about it the more people in my surroundings kept talking about using a solarium themselves. It’s when I realised other people’s insecurities reflect on our own and it re-enforces them, making us feel bad because other people do. This probably has something to do with empathy as well, e.g. the more you can imagine being the other person, the more you copy their fears and anxieties.
    I also learned it’s all nonsense. It’s a group thing and you don’t have to take part in it if you don’t want to. I’ve started paying attention to people and I noticed one of my best friends has a similar white skin as me, and she’s not upset about it. And why should she be? Why should I? We are who we are and we’re all beautiful. As long as we know this, who cares about what others think!
  4. This brings me to number four: Beauty is not about other’s opinions, it’s about yours. Ask a hundred people what they think beauty is, and you’re likely to end up with just as much different answers (except for hip-width-leg ratio. That appears to be a global phenomenon). Did someone call you ugly? They’re probably feeling bad about their selves and need to bring you down to feel better. It’s much nicer to have it the other way around, isn’t it? When someone calls you beautiful it can give you wings to fly on for the rest of the day!
    But even so, it still doesn’t matter what they think. If you need to be called pretty in order to feel good, there’s something wrong with your self-esteem. And if, like me, you spend a lot of time worrying about your “obvious ugliness” (please note a hint of sarcasm here, my self-esteem has grown a lot lately :)), there’s something very wrong with you, too.
    There’s only one way to not go wrong, which is learning to love, honour and respect yourself. You’re definitely worth it! And if others can’t see that, it’s their problem, not yours.
  5. Fiskifræðingur is Icelandic for ichtyologist. Ichtyologist is official English for fish scientist. It seemed so innocent: an exercise to guess what Icelandic professions were in English. There was a whole list of jobs which ended with fiskifiskifræðingur. I reasoned: “if fræðingur indicates it’s a “learned” profession, and “fiski” sounds similar to “fiscus” (Dutch word for the government organisation overseeing taxes), fiskifræðingur probably means something like tax-collector.”
    My answer sheet read the following: fiskifræðingur – ichtyologist.

    Up until that moment I had never even heard of someone being an ichtyologist. I had to use Google to find out what it was.
    Why. On. Earth. Would anyone make an Icelandic course for beginners and put this in an exercise IN LESSON TWO?? Why!? I could have guessed “fiski” was fish, I admit to that. But, seriously, a fish scientist? Come on!
  6. You can’t skip a step to get somewhere. I often wonder why my life is so… mellow at the moment. I am incredibly impatient and if I want something, I don’t want it tomorrow, I want it NOW. Or actually, I wanted it yesterday. But I also know I need to experience everything I am experiencing right now to get further in life. If that means taking a mandatory break from everything to get my thoughts in order, so be it. I trust the Universe. I know I’ll end up where I belong. I do. I wish I could skip a few steps in the process, but I know I can’t. Because not taking every step necessary only means you’ll trip and fall, and you’ll probably be set back a few paces. To reach your final goal you have to walk the entire path.
  7. My papers seem to get wiser every week, and I’ve come to the point where I’ve started wondering who wrote them… But, anyway, here’s the paper-wisdom for week 10: The human voice can never carry as far as the whisper of your conscience.
    If there is a Lord He knows I tried, though! But all my singing didn’t reap anything positive, which did kind of burden my conscience, so there you go. I don’t really have much to say on this one, except that it’s very deep, very beautiful and I like it. It could have served as a Wednesday Wisdom-Tile quote, but unfortunately it was chosen for my Sunday Summary number seven. You just can’t have it all.

It amazes me how much you can learn throughout the week, whether it’s something silly, like the hair-fact, or something deep, such as about appreciating your own beauty. I am curious to see what more is in store for me knowledge-wise!

As always, here’s this weeks Earworm Of The Week. I am not sure if I’ve already used it or not, but it’s the most amazing song ever used to train biceps on, to run on, to sing along to, to dance on, and to listen to, so I hope you’ll enjoy it as much as I do.

Cheers!

9 thoughts on “Sunday Summary

  1. I don’t think the paleness or otherwise of someone’s skin makes any difference whatever to someone’s attractiveness, so I certainly wouldn’t worry about that. Hair does change, though. I don’t remember mine changing much when I was younger, but over he last couple of years, I have noticed mine becoming finer and more brittle. I’m 49, so I think it may have to do with my age. Most of my hair is still dark, but it’s starting to go grey at the sides too. I was hoping this would make me look more distinguished, but that hasn’t happened yet, unfortunately. Still, I can’t be too choosy at my time of life. I’m just happy to still have hair.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Bun :) I honestly always thought it was my nose I was icky about, but turns out it was only the biggest organ of my body that I have real issues with, haha. I’m actively working on it, though!
      Hair is funny like that. It’s probably good it changes so much. Imagine being 49 with your baby-hair, still. That’d be so much worse than going grey or bald.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Well, having just seen your nerd photograph, I don’t think you have any nose, skin or other appearance related issues to worry about. You suit glasses too. I think there may be a reason why only one of our gravatars features a paper bag over the head.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. It’s the lighting, Bun. Very bad lighting does wonders for your nose, bad skin and any other appearance related thing :p
          I do have a “head for glasses” as the lady from the store told me once, but I secretly only use them when I’m driving on need to read subtitles on TV :’) So I guess I AM a nerd for putting them on for the picture only, haha!
          I really like your paper bag, though! I wish I had been smart enough to come up with that! D:

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Oh, it’s clear you’re being much too modest, Samantha. Incidentally, I have glasses for distance too, but I don’t wear those one so much except if I watch a movie. The ones I do wear a lot are my reading glasses. They work really well and look reasonably stylish — just as long as I remember to take the bag off first. D:

            Liked by 1 person

  2. “To reach your final goal you have to walk the entire path”

    —One thing I learned is that things that are worth having in life always take effort. And my dad always tells me: don’t take shortcut when you are young. He is probably right on this one.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, that’s true. Whatever is worth having is definitely worth fight for. Or waiting for, for that matter. Sometimes the real battle is waiting. Especially if you’re as impatient as me :p Everything will happen at the right time.

      Liked by 1 person

Tell me what you think. Otherwise I'll assume you agree with me all the way! ;)

