Sunday Summary

Sunday Summary

(Week 8)

sunday_summary_new“I am not someone who is ashamed of my past. I’m actually really proud. I know I made a lot of mistakes, but they, in turn, were my life lessons”Drew Barrymore

February is almost over already. Just one more day left to make 2016 a leap year, and an extra day to learn something! Here’s what I learned this week:

  1. If you dread something, it usually turns out better than expected. My gynaecologist was supposed to phone me last Tuesday to talk about my new medication. I positively loathe this man, because he’s all talk and no action, which I hate. Plus, his talks changed every time we had an appointment, and that’s something I hate even more. A little consistency is highly appreciated here, thank you!
    Anyway, I was playing with the thought of calling his assistant and cancelling our phone-date, but then all of a sudden my phone rang on a Friday late afternoon, and it was him, Mr. Gynaecologist himself. As always he sounded charming (he’s a really smooth talker. He should have gone into politics if you ask me), and our chat was not half as bad as I’d imagined. And very short, too. Which was due to me, but still.
    Dreaded the conversation, but in the end it was okay. All that stress was totally unnecessary.
  2. Happiness is the only thing that doubles when you share it. I heard this on TV and totally loved it! My late grandmother used to tell me that if I had something worth sharing, I should, because it would make not one but two people happy. So I always share my food or candy, and it’s a pleasure to see someone else enjoy it, too. If you’re happy, why not make someone else share your feelings?
    *EDIT – This is actually a famous quote from Albert Schweitzer, a Nobel Peace Prize winner. Thank you Micah Le Lann for sharing this info! You made me yet a little wiser :)*
  3. It’s better to have something on you that you don’t need, than vice versa. This is for all us women out there, and all those men not understanding why we always bring a bag everywhere we go. Or why we put so much stuff in said bag. It’s not like we need every single item in there, but maybe we do. Or maybe we come across someone else who would be very helped with something from our bag.
    In my handbag I always have a pen. Nothing too interesting, and I never really need it, but a few weeks ago the check out girl at the supermarket was in desperate need for one. So I handed her mine.
    Band-aids? Always have some on me, you simply never know. A nail file? Ditto. What do you do when you damage a nail at work and there’s no file nearby? Aspirin, same thing. Imagine being stuck in traffic and you feel a migraine coming up but you have no aspirin on you. Which brings me to the bottle of water: how else are you to consume the aspirin? You see? It’s always better to be prepared. Just in case.
  4. I’m not sure if I’ve ever shared the following wisdom, but it was proven valid again throughout this week, so: When opening a stubborn bottle/jar that won’t pop, think of someone you really really dislike. Works like a charm. There’s quite a few people I don’t like a lot, but there’s only about two or three that get me so angry just by thinking of them, they give me super-strength. A jar of pickles is easy-peasy for me. I think of my awful aunt, her demonic offspring or my crazy sister and voila! Pickles for everyone! Apple compote? Same story.
    An evil bottle lid that hurts your hands trying to open it for the first time? Don’t just picture the evil person in your head, but shout out their names while twisting. Works. Every. Time. Trust me.
    And that’s how you put anger to good use! :) (I also wrote a post about Anger).
  5. You can tell a horse’s age by his teeth. Teeth that will never stop growing all throughout the animal’s life. I admit: I watch too much TV. But when The Incredible Dr. Pol came on and Dr. Pol talked about horse’s teeth, it all came together. That’s why the saying goes: never look a gift horse in the mouth. It completely makes sense, now!
    Of course, I could have googled this years ago, but why should I? Do you research the origin of all sayings and proverbs you’ve ever heard? I think not. So thank you, Dr. Pol, for teaching me something I never knew before. And good job on saving that horse!
  6. Listen to yourself and not someone else. The guy that screwed me over last year texted me again a while ago, and it still kind of angers me (maybe I should try picturing his face next time I open a jar). Seriously, just let me be already! In a nutshell, this is what happened over the course of about four years: he liked me, I didn’t know if I liked him back (it takes longer for me to open up to people), he got impatient, found a girlfriend and broke off all contact with me until he had broken up with his girl, after which he tried it on with me again. To my shame I have to admit this happened twice, and that I totally saw it coming the second time but never listened to myself. Instead I listened to his sweet talk.
    So that’s the thing: always listen to yourself. There’s a difference between speculating about the future and being 100% sure of what’s going to happen. In case of the latter, no matter how difficult it is, no matter how tempting ignoring your inner voice is: forget what the other party has to say. If you know better, and I mean if you KNOW better, why listen to someone else? Save yourself the heartache, save yourself the drama. Just listen to you.
  7. Wisdom comes in all forms, and number seven is always from a teeny slip of paper. This week’s paper-wisdom reads as follows: Don’t be afraid the world will cease to exist today. It’s already tomorrow in Australia.
    best_wishes
    I didn’t know papers were allowed to have a sense of humour, but alright! It’s true, though. At least for people not living in or near Australia. A new day will come, complete with new possibilities, hopes and dreams. Let’s never give up on any of those. Because if you don’t succeed today, there’s always tomorrow.
    Or Australia. If all else fails, go there. At least they have great weather!

    AND mountains!

That’s it for this week for my personal learning curve! I hope you had an insightful week as well. Now, as for the Earworm Of The Week, try to get this one out of your head before midnight! Muahaha! Hah!

Cheers!

24 thoughts on “Sunday Summary

  1. That M&M commercial started playing here a couple of weeks ago and I think it may qualify as my Earworm of the Month now. 😀 I’m planning on continuing to listen to my inner voice…when not listening to the M&M jingle of course…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. They used my Earworm Of The Week for an M&M commercia? Wow, that’s annoying! It’s the bodypump 90 track for the lunges, which I used for my goodbye pump. It’s been stuck ik my head for the past week, due to having to give 3 lessons instead of 1, lol. Good luck getting rid of it, though. They say listening to the end does the trick, but I’m not sure.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Marginally related: In 2011, I visited Sydney for two weeks. Although I did not got to mountains, I love the city: when you walk on the street, you can feel the unstoppable optimism. (Maybe because they were still in the commodity boom?)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah, so you travelled to the future ;)
      Australia is supposed to be very beautiful and to harbour laid-back people. It’s not on my list of countries to travel to (yet), but who knows. My sister went there and her pictures are gorgeous :)

      Liked by 1 person

          1. By the way, I like the quote from Drew Barrymore. I feel deeply about this one. In particular, I now realize to learn from mistakes, you must own them. In other words, you have must take the full responsibility of your actions. A bloody lesson I learned is that I often yield to others, even if I know their solutions are inferior, for the sake of friendship, social pressure, etc. But then when I taste the bitterness of the outcomes, I have only myself to blame: if you know all along, why cannot you stick to your gun? I feel terrible, for I even cannot own the terrible outcomes as my mistakes.

            So recently I made up my mind. I will yield if I have the conviction. The logic is simple: do what you believe. Even if it turns out you are wrong, at least you own that mistake, not because of your cowardliness.

            Liked by 1 person

            1. I think makong mistakes for many people is associated with negativity. Of course it’s never fun to make one, but we need to in order to grow in life. I have excessive fear of failing and used to make excuses for everything I did wrong, until someone called me out. That’s when I realised it’s okay to do something wrong, provided you learn something from it. Responsibility is key, indeed :)

              Liked by 1 person

    1. Yea, my papers always contain lots of hidden wisdom. And I think all of us women do! People that make fun of us for it stop that once they need something urgently. Something we have on us, hah!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. The happiness quote from TV is actually a quite famous one by Albert Schweitzer —
    So feel free to kick off one of your next posts with it if you like — he’s actually received the Nobel Peace Prize ✌ ✌ ✌

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Coincidentally that gentleman is a fellow countryman 😉 so the original version would be: “Glück ist das Einzige, was sich verdoppelt, wenn man es teilt.” – Often used on greetings cards and calendars here 🍀

        Liked by 1 person

Tell me what you think. Otherwise I'll assume you agree with me all the way! ;)

