Dictionary

Whatever (aka Introducing My New Mantra)

[interjection; ~ Pronunciation: /hwuht-ev-er/]

  • Definition: Whatever is often said to show you couldn’t possibly care less about something, and is also a popular stop-word among teenagers (commonly shortened to an uninterested “whatevs”). I would hereby like to introduce a new meaning to this otherwise so negative a word: by lack of a magic switch to stop your brains from overloading on negative thoughts, stress and anxiety, as well as bad memories that surface every now and then, simply say to yourself “whatever” and move on. It’s seriously that simple. Whatever ought to be everyone’s personal mantra.

“In war, events of importance are the result of trivial causes”Julius Caesar

Have you ever heard of Occam’s Razor? Basically, its general statement is that in the case of competing hypotheses, if both are validated (or rather: not falsified), the most simplistic one is to be accepted. Cut away everything extra, hence the razor part, and you are left with a basic, valuable essence.

I’m kind of applying the same concept to life. There may be no competing hypotheses in my existence, but there are important and less important matters to worry about. In order to see clearly it’s necessary to stop the train of evil thoughts and negative energy that blocks your personal growth, and focus on the important things in life. The big things. Not everything else that comes extra.

For example: my mother has a tendency to over-think everything, to come up with theories on how people function and speculate on their do’s and don’ts. Her and my father can spend a lot of time on this, all throughout dinner, for instance, and really worry about this as well. So much energy wasted on nothing but air.

I simply don’t care. I could, but I refuse to. It’s no use to try and think of what someone might or might not do in the near future. It’s not healthy to come up with theories on how the new gym is or is not going to be a total flop. There’s only one way to find out, and that is to wait and see.

But it’s not just that, think about what’s really important in life! I often wonder what my third item would be if I’d wake up in the middle of the night and my house was on fire. Imagine you only had time to grab three things, what would they be?

I’d grab my stuffed panda, the one I’ve had since I was three years old, my passport/purse for practicalities, and then… no clue. There’s nothing else I couldn’t replace one way or another. Photos, maybe. My college diploma (although I assume I’d be able to get a new one if I’d phone them and explain the situation? Surely I’m in their system somewhere as a graduate). Maybe a necklace or my blessed rosary?

I honestly don’t know.

(I do know that at this point I would like to state that I am thinking in objects only and that in no way do I see pets as objects. If my house was in fact on fire, my pets would be the first two living souls I’d save, provided my parents would be physically capable to get out by themselves).

The morale of this story is that we shouldn’t spend so much time on thoughts and things that don’t really matter. If you’ve got bad friends, don’t stick around, just cut them loose and find better ones. If your car has a scratch, don’t fret too much: at least you’re still okay.

Life is way too short to live it with too much worries, so grab your knife and cut away the least important ones!

And that’s the essence of Samantha’s Razor: cut off every fickle thing and learn to care about the big, important things in life. Ask yourself if that what’s on your mind is worth being there. If not: whatever. Don’t care too much about it and it will pass. You will have seas of time left to spend on more important matters!

And me? Well, I stopped thinking about the third item. I mean, whatever, right?

16 thoughts on “Whatever (aka Introducing My New Mantra)

  1. Oh, this post was real fun to read! Plus, I had a similar experience this week, although aiming at the opposite direction: I was asked about the first three things I’d do or buy, if I won the lottery (*tada* πŸ˜‰) …

    Well, number one would be to buy me a super-size bathtub (I’m 6ft 5in tall) and take a 1000 liters hot bath every day (no more shower saving showers), number two would be to hire the legend of Bruce Springsteen and his E-Street Band as my court jesters and have them play and rock while I’m enjoying my bath, and I couldn’t come up with number three! And to be honest, numbers one and two are stupid enough already, of course! I take that as a sign that absolutely deep down I have the most important things for own personal private happiness and peace of mind at last already, too — you’re absolutely right, sometimes a very short attention span provides for an easy living. One has to learn how not to take certain things or oneself too serious tho. At least it took quite a long time for me to poke fun at my reflection πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    1. “number two would be to hire the legend of Bruce Springsteen and his E-Street Band as my court jesters and have them play and rock while I’m enjoying my bath” – Hahaha, nice!

      Well yea, we ought to be a little foolish sometimes, but not lose sight of what’s important to us. Really important, I mean. Sometimes I hear people talk about things that seem so small, so remote from my life. And they care so much, while in fact it doesn’t matter. So many things we worry about are not life-changing; it doesn’t matter if we eat broccoli or cauliflower tonight, so why make a fuss about it?

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I find myself saying this so often I admittedly forget if I’ve left it behind here…but the mind often builds bridges we in reality will never face and thereby not have to cross. I think even in the most positive of individuals there is a tendency to take on negative scenarios and, if not careful, they can become the ones we most ruminate over and therefore assume will happen. In fact, I think we all have to be careful to not let that glass-half-empty philosophy from setting up permanent shop in our minds. I know it’s easier to say than to actually put into practice but life really is too short to be worrying, let alone worrying about things that in most all cases will never come to pass. I’ve cut loose the bad friends and am available to make new ones. I’ve also tried to steer clear of negative thoughts and focus on being grateful for all things…big and small. So far, so good! Excellent post Samantha. Have a positive day! Bruce B.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. You are absolutely right, Bruce. Staying positive all day every day is impossible, but we should try to focus on what’s real, exactly. Thank you for stopping by and for your kind words. I wish you have a glorious day, too :)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Samantha, hi. We might have conscious thoughts on what we think we’ll do in those pressure situations, but when those pressure situations arrive we find what our subconscious deems most important. I might think I would grab a pants first, second, or at least as my third item when that fire ravages my house, but maybe my subconscious deems that a worthless item. I might end up running for the door with my wifi router in the one hand, coffee press in the other, and Moby Dick clutched between my teeth. I agree that we need to be mindful for that which truly matters and seek it out through all the noise around us. I liked your thoughts on it. Have a great evening, Samantha.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Gert, thanks for stopping by! What I meant with the example of my house on fire is nothing more than thinking of what’s most important. Of course in reality, I’d be in total panic if my house was burning down! (Although… my mum’s car was set on fire once and everyone was freaking out, but I was dead cool… hmhm). It’s just one of those things people often ask each other, or you read in a paper: “what would you do if…”, “What 3 items would you grab if you woke up in the middle of the night and your house was on fire?”
      Of course, I’m primed now, lol. When my mum woke me up shouting her car was on fire, my brains only picked up “fire” and I had already stuffed my panda under my arm :p
      Anyway, what I meant is we should try to worry less about silly things (e.g. oh no, the shoes I bought last week are on sale today!), and think of the bigger picture more often. Plus, shouting “whatever!” at your brains every now and then helps regain perspective :)

      Liked by 1 person

  5. πŸ˜€
    A while ago a friend sent me this when I asked for an honest reply to the question: ‘Describe me in one sentence.’
    His reply: ‘to pursue a somewhat related or irrelevant course while neglecting the main subject. In other words: off on a tangent.’
    I cringed at this because it’s only true ‘some-most’ of the time. πŸ˜€ He got me. I’m in my own head tooo much.

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Well, damn. That wasn’t even a question I wanted a reply on. I should have said: ‘Describe me in one sentence, or else.’ – then it would have made more sense.πŸ˜€

    Liked by 2 people

Tell me what you think. Otherwise I'll assume you agree with me all the way! ;)

