Sunday Summary

Sunday Summary

(Week 7)

sunday_summary_new“Human behaviour flows from three main sources: desire, emotion, and knowledge”Plato

Another week has passed, and it’s time for this week’s summary. Here’s what I learned these last seven days:

  1. Gel nail polish is crap. Apparently gel nail polish is all the rage nowadays. When I went out to buy myself a new colour to paint my nails with I noticed how all bottles had “gel” on them. It’s supposed to last longer (the bottle stated so explicitly), but it turns out it’s just another lie. I think I spent more time creating some cool (and poorly executed) nail art than actually showing off said nail art. The polish literally cracked a day later, blistering off huge pieces. So much for my faith in gel nail polish…
  2. It’s funny how much you can forget in just two years. That’s the time span for my Body Pump adventure, which is to end on February the 29th. Almost two years of going to class and eventually being an instructor myself. In order to leave in style I compiled a special pump, containing at least one song of every class I ever took. I started when 89 was live, only to move on to 90 about three weeks later. Normally, my memory is impeccable, but when sifting through songs and exercises I only started to remember things when I hit the 91st pump. Take in mind one pump lasts for three months, I forgot over three months worth of movements and music! That’s just not right… I fully blame it on the weather! And my almost-flu.
  3. I’ve been blogging for two years now! I completely forgot, because I was too busy hiding under my rock for Valentine’s Day, but February the 15th is Dictionary Dutch’s birthday! Two years (and a bit) ago, I thought I’d give blogging one more try, never imagining I’d actually keep doing it. But I’m still here today! So: happy belated birthday to DD!
    happy_birthday
  4. What makes you happy and what’s best for you is not always the same thing. I know I talk about Body Pump a lot, but that’s all going to be over after next week anyway, so what do I care? The thing is, our gym is now slowly being turned into a new one, and the vibe that’s been going around is one of negativity, change, and insecurity. People either dislike the new concept, they are confused by all the changes happening around them, or they are unsure what to do. Do they stay, do they leave?
    I really like being a Body Pump instructor, and lately I’ve been wondering if I’ve made the wrong decision, because the new owners would definitely have sent me to the course (on their costs). The only drawback would have been having to work for them and only them until I’d earned my course back (which is why I turned them down. Well, that and because the woman interviewing me was a complete cow). But the truth is: no matter how happy Body Pump makes me, I would never have been happy in the new gym. Short-term happiness is different from long-term happiness, and what I really want doesn’t combine well with what I’d really want right now. Sometimes we have to realise that in order to make the best decision possible.
  5. Your body is the boss. Don’t ever doubt that. It doesn’t matter how strong-willed you are: if your body doesn’t feel like cooperating, you won’t go anywhere. I was supposed to go out to lunch today with my two best friends, but one of them cancelled last Friday. She had a bad headache and knew what this meant: if she didn’t stay calm during the weekend, she’d end up with a migraine. Too bad for us, but there’s only one golden rule when it comes to bodies: always listen to them. I’ve been giving 60% max the past week, because I felt like I was coming down with the flu. My body was not in the best of shapes, but lots of rest, water, and more rest helped make me feel better. You might think your brains are in charge, but nothing is less true. Your body calls the shots, don’t you think otherwise!
  6. Compliments about my work make me feel proud. This needs a little explanation: I don’t handle compliments too well, I just don’t. I’ve been bullied way too much to believe in anything good someone has to say about me. Except work-wise. I know I put in the effort, and when someone compliments me on something I have achieved, or done, it makes me feel really good. A simple “You should blog more, seriously” can make my day. After class last Saturday a woman came up to me and asked me if I will be teaching Body Pump somewhere else. I told her no, and she said: “Aw, that’s too bad. I really enjoy your classes.” Now that’s how you get little old me humble and happy :)
    (Please note I did not write this to receive more compliments! In general, they still make me feel uncomfortable, and I wouldn’t believe them any more if suddenly everyone would shower me with words of praise).
  7. Paper wisdom! This one is lovely (and again very accurate): You can be annoyed all day long, but you are not obliged to. Whenever I am stressed about something I keep playing situations in my head, all day long, over and over again. A lot of times these “situations” are worst-case scenarios or negative thoughts about what someone might or might not say/do to me. They’re not even true! But I keep thinking about them throughout the day, and they use up a lot of energy (hey, maybe that’s why I’ve been so tired lately…).
    What I needed to hear was that I am not obliged to make myself think these thoughts. Maybe they randomly pop up into my head, yes, but I don’t have to play out these bad fantasies I know aren’t close to reality. It’s time to allow myself some piece of mind :)

That’s it for this week! The Earworm Of The Week of week 7 goes to The Killers, whose song I’ve used as my special pump’s squats track, and which stayed put in my head ever since.

Which I don’t mind at all, because I love this song (which is why I chose it for my farewell-pump).

Cheers!

11 thoughts on “Sunday Summary

  1. Samantha, I just want to compliment you on two years of sustained effort with your blog and congratulate Dictionary Dutch on being 736 days old. ;)
    No further compliments then from here, for now…sad face :(

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Happy Blog Birthday! As for those unwelcome thoughts…apologies in advance if I’ve already left this behind in a prior comment…our minds often cross bridges that don’t even exist to even possibly cross. Happy thoughts Samantha!

    Liked by 1 person

Tell me what you think. Otherwise I'll assume you agree with me all the way! ;)

