Dictionary

Anger (aka Learn To Channel Your Red Energy)

[noun; ~ Pronunciation: /ang-ger/]

  • Definition: Anger is a very strong and dangerous emotion, but when used properly its energy can function as a powerful incentive to achieve something wonderful.

“Anger is an acid that can do more harm to the vessel in which it is stored than to anything on which it is poured”Mark Twain

There are several core emotions everyone can relate to, among which are, for instance, fear, joy, sadness, and anger. The thing with being angry is, it’s usually not worth the energy it takes.
I chose this quote from Mark Twain because it’s spot on (and it rhymes), but there are many other good quotes about this topic. Such as this one from Buddha: “Holding on to anger is like grasping a hot coal with the intent of throwing it at someone else; you are the one who gets burned.”

I’ve been very angry lately, yet I’m not sure why. I suspect it’s partly due to my new medicine which affects (and should control) my hormones, and by now I ought to know better than to mess with them (they always strike back!). But part of me is also angry for having had such a disastrous year, such an idiot sister, such a lame life and no idea where to go with it. My bad year is over, and now my mind is in the process of healing. But healing comes with sadness and, unfortunately, anger.

It’s tiring, being upset and cranky all day long. It drains energy faster than I can regain, which leaves me even angrier. And so the vicious circle continues. But like everything else in life, circles can be broken.

Think about the changes in the weather we’ve all been experiencing: some countries are suddenly being tormented by nuclear winter storms, while others (like mine – sorry!) have had practically no winter at all (except for the northern parts of my country, but nobody really likes the people in Friesland anyway, so who cares if they’re snowed under). Even Mother Nature seems upset, and she is breaking her annual cycle to get out of her vicious circle.

Mother Nature has set an example as to how to deal with anger issues, and who am I not to try and follow into her foot steps? Instead of merely feeling upset, I’ve tried to turn the power of my angry emotions into productivity.

Stop being upset without a target or goal! Why not try and dive into this red energy and use it to get something done instead? You can lie in your bed being mad at the world for whatever reason, and really feeling it, or you can get up and run 5k. Or colour a mandala for your rune project (which is now nearly finished – hah!). Or look at your to-do-list for the day (I make those. Yes, I am crazy, but it helps me get things done, so I highly recommend you try it, too), and put your angry energy to good use.

But beware: it’s not as easy as it may sound! When you’re upset, for whatever reason, you’re close to snapping. Tantrums never helped anyone and being irrationally angry is far worse than being just angry.

And that’s the thing. You have to try to figure out what it is that makes you so mad, and then put that aside. Get rid of the reason behind your negative emotions, cut them loose from the energy that comes with it, and then all you’ve got left is energy! A strong energy, actually, which you can then use for anything you wish.

Forget green energy, energy from seeing red is far more powerful!

The one thing to achieve when being angry is that you are rationally so; the world is already filled with irrational persons, no need for more of them. Plus, irrational people do stupid things, angry or not, but rational people at least use their brains. And there’s nothing more frightening than a rational angry individual.

Well, maybe a group of rational angry individuals, but let’s not get into that.

Bottom line: anger is a core emotion, and it’s normal to experience it. But however difficult it is, try to let go of what’s making you mad, and use the energy for something good. Something good for you. Don’t let the coal burn you, don’t let the acid ruin your vessel, but use them to achieve something positive instead.

If that doesn’t work, remember what Thomas Jefferson said: “When angry count to ten before you speak. If very angry, count to one hundred.”

7 thoughts on “Anger (aka Learn To Channel Your Red Energy)

  1. I find blogging is my happy place from all the anger that I have around me. I little to channel it all into my bitterness and creativity. I hope you have a better year this year. Remember I’m paying a good amount of pounds for you to do so! :)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s all very true, which is why it’s good to use this emotion gor something else. Because anger can also push us to achieve something we never thought we could. It takes away fear (for a brief moment) and gives a huge boost of energy.

      Like

Tell me what you think. Otherwise I'll assume you agree with me all the way! ;)

