Dictionary

Confidence (aka The Only Thing You Need To Believe In Is Yourself)

[noun; ~ Pronunciation: /kon-fi-duh ns/]

  • Definition: The knowledge of all your personal assets, skills, abilities, (super) powers, even if no one else appears to notice them. Confidence is well known to be broken down easily by others, but, with a little practice, you may find critics’ crap can actually lead to an increase in self-confidence. Once you find you self worth, grab it, hold on to it, and never let go.

confidence“Believe in yourself! Have faith in your abilities! Without a humble but reasonable confidence in your own powers you cannot be successful or happy”Norman Vincent Peale

Confidence in myself was something I never imagined I would have. And if you wonder how I got it all of a sudden, I can’t give you an answer: I don’t know! I suspect it crept up at me last night, when I was crying myself to sleep because my health issues are back from their break. I comforted myself by promising me if they’re not over by next week, I’ll phone the hospital and get a new gynaecologist. Tell them the other one can stick his ideas some place where the sun doesn’t shine.

I instantly felt better and fell asleep.

The thing is, people around me drive me crazy sometimes, and I don’t mean that in a good way. Not everyone, but most people feel they have the right to treat me like a baby, a silly blonde girl who knows nothing. As if they’re better than me.

Well, they’re not. They’re different, but that’s about it. I am not stupid, nor do I wish to be treated that way. And if for some inexplicable reason someone still feels they should treat me as dirt, they can continue doing so in their own time, for they ain’t worth mine.

I have a list of things I want to do this year. A list many people in my surroundings consider to be a joke. A list of things they think I’ll never accomplish, because let’s face it: Sam’s a loser.

But so far, out of the seven things on that list, I’ve managed to win a small amount in the lottery (yay!), I’ve been writing moments down in which I enjoyed myself (instead of my Happy Jar I am now keeping a Jar of Joy), I have booked a trip to Canada, a country I thus WILL visit in 2016! And last but not least: not only did I take up running again, I also managed to make it over 5k :)

That’s four out of seven, and the year’s only just begun! I’d say that’s not very loser-like behaviour. Hah!

The morale here is that it’s easy for everyone to judge the persons around you. But what it all comes down to is feeling good about yourself and knowing the real you. It might take a while to get there (it took me over twenty-nine years!), but don’t let anyone make you believe you’re a loser. Don’t put your faith in their opinions, but put your faith in yourself. YOU know what you’re capable of, YOU know what you can do. And that’s all there is to it to grow a little confidence.

You’re worth it. Don’t let anyone ever make you think otherwise.

15 thoughts on “Confidence (aka The Only Thing You Need To Believe In Is Yourself)

  1. Way to go on accomplishing some of those goals! I’m so bad at goals, but I figure most of mine are in my head somewhere and I just need to do a few things to get them going. But yeah, don’t ever let what other people think of you get in the way of being awesome!

    Liked by 2 people

            1. Unrealistic, maybe, but not impossible. Although, of course, the odds of being struck by lightning (twice) are far greater than winning a substantial amount from the lottery. Provided you bought a ticket, though. Otherwise it’s all nothing but dreams…

              Like

  2. I enjoyed the energy and passion you put forth in this post. We all have a crisis of confidence at times in our lives and often the people we would hope to build us up instead tear us down. I am in my fifties and still trying to find the “real me.” Your list is great. I have been fortunate to visit Canada twice (Montreal) and loved it. I am confident you’ll love it…and confident your confidence is intact!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Oh snap, I was hoping someday I would find the real me, but this isn’t very promising ;) Just kidding though. I suppose we keep growing as a person (at least that’s what I’m aiming for), so we’ll never know the “real us”, because we’re never finished. Thank you for stopping by and commenting :) And I saw pictures of where I’m going on my trip… Can’t wait to be there!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. “booked a trip to Canad”booked a trip to Canada”
    —Great! Canada has masculine landscape. You will definitely enjoy the trip!

    Also, if you have time to take a detour south, you may find California attractive, too. And you may well accomplish another goal—moving to a foreign country :)

    “I also managed to make it over 5k”
    —This is cool! Maybe we can have a friendly race sometime in the future :)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m going with a group, so the trip’s already pre-planned out. So no detour time, sorry. But America is on my list of potential countries to (temporarily) move to, so who knows. No friendly races, though! D: That would be so unfair; the only “hills” we have are speed bumps. I once took a run in Ireland and I thought I was going to drop dead instantly for the street went slightly uphill. Only slightly. I am weak :(

      Liked by 1 person

  4. By the way, as you’ve known well, I find taking actions, no matter how small they are, is an effective way to build confidence. The reason is very simple: it focuses mind on process rather than worrying (that produces counterproductive emotional turmoil), and it produces concrete results.

    Well, you have already been doing it :)

    Liked by 1 person

Tell me what you think. Otherwise I'll assume you agree with me all the way! ;)

