Sunday Summary

Sunday Summary

(Week 3)

sunday_summary_new“It’s better to travel well than to arrive”Buddha

You’d think it’d become more difficult to learn something new each day when you’ve kept it up for a few months, but nothing is less true. Keep an open mind and you’ll be surprised how much extra wisdom you’ll gather. Here’s my list of what I’ve learned this week:

  1. It’s better to look stupid than to be stupid. Last Monday was probably the coldest day of the week and of course me and my mother picked that exact date to go shopping. It was freezing outside and I decided to put my self-knitted woolly hat on. Truth be told: it’s not the most fashionable item I own (like I own anything fashionable), but it keeps my ears warm.
    During our stroll to the city centre I noticed some teenage girls pointing and laughing at my hat, and I pitied them. I thought: maybe I look stupid with my self-made piece of un-stylish wool on my head, these girls are stupid for not wearing anything to prevent their ears (or brains) from freezing. I rather look stupid than be stupid any day.
  2. When in a tough situation, choose the option that’s best for you. Without feeling guilty, if you’re in a position in which you have to make a decision and all options make you feel uncomfortable, choose what works best for you. You’ll probably end up hurting someone’s feelings no matter the choice you make, and it better be someone else’s, however rude it may sound.
    The woman who gave me a free pedicure (number six) also works in the supermarket me and my mother visit weekly, and after the strange pedicure-experience she stopped talking to us for a while. But last Tuesday I suddenly heard her and my mother chat. Afterwards my mum told me the woman’s slowly hinting towards us hiring her for a pedicure (besides not being very good at it, she also charges almost twice as much as any other). In a way, she’s abusing my mother’s politeness, trying to make her a customer against her will. I talked to my mum and we decided it’s best for everyone that next time, if she starts the conversation up again, we nip it in the butt: tell her we’re not interested, we found someone else and we don’t need her services. If we don’t, before we know it we’ll be stuck with her forever. And with wonky feet. Yikes! Maybe she’ll be hurt for a while (I imagine another silent treatment), but it’s better for everyone: we won’t give her the idea we will, one day, hire her, and she will stop trying to get to maltreat our feet.
  3. People who make you feel bad, aren’t worth your time. I blogged about having a very awkward and uncomfortable job interview last Tuesday, and Hemangini commented: “well if people make someone feel bad then it shows who and how they are and it doesn’t say much about you, ain’t that right?”
    It made me realise people who make you feel bad are never worth your time. NEVER! Nobody has the right to make you feel bad about yourself. Especially if you’re out there trying to be the best person you can be. Forget about them. You don’t need them, you need self-love and -appreciation. And you deserve that. People who look down on your are pitiable themselves: they probably need to do so in order to feel good about themselves. Don’t believe a word they say and move on with your life. Try to find people who are worth your time and energy, and who will make you feel good!
  4. The cure for writer’s block is simple: write! (Also, a glass of wine can occasionally help break the strain on your thoughts). I had no idea what to write about last Thursday, but I knew I wasn’t going to let myself off with finding a quote. Or typing a status update. I wanted a full post, a Dictionary-entry. So I looked through some scribbles (I swear I drive myself crazy with all the snippets of paper I have lying around everywhere, things messily jotted down on them), and nothing caught my eye. I’ve had writer’s block in the past, a pretty nasty case of it, so now I write down all ideas I get for posts or stories, like having a safety net. But none of my ideas triggered something. Unwilling to give up, I logged onto WordPress anyway and decided to just start writing and see where it’d take me. I ended up with this post. It got liked, it got comments, it even got linked back to. It turned out to be one of my most successful posts! So safe to say: cure your writer’s block by writing!
  5. Music is the best therapy ever invented. I’ve been feeling a bit blue lately, which mostly originates from health issues that, apparently, STILL aren’t solved (*sigh*), and I didn’t feel like doing anything. So Thursday I stayed in bed longer than my alarm clock wanted, and grabbed my iPod, thinking maybe music could help. I once told someone (I might even have blogged about it, but I’m not sure), that my current record stands at four Love Today’s by Mika, before I change from being upset/crying to smiling and singing along.
    Not in the mood for Love Today, though, I tried out a few other songs that usually make me want to get up and dance, and it worked! It took me about forty minutes to change my mood from being as dark as a night sky during a thunderstorm to a clear blue one with a nice dose of sunshine. Don’t get me wrong: I didn’t feel great afterwards, but I went from feeling desperate and forlorn to being okay. Which is a huge improvement anyway.
    I didn’t think it was possible to lift my moods, but music is magic. It can help you relax, it can help you get stuff out of your system, it can help you fall asleep, and it can also help you feel better. Plus it’s much cheaper than a therapist ;)
  6. I am ALWAYS the odd one out! I suspect my fate is to feel lonely and misunderstood my entire life. Here’s what happened: my best friend invited me to join her team for a Pub Quiz. Nothing new, I’ve done that tons of times in the past. The Pub Quiz is always a Good Time and I can’t remember ever not enjoying it. Until last Friday.
    Like I said: I don’t know what happened, but at one point I just didn’t feel like it any more. Not exactly sure what “it” was, but I didn’t feel like being a delightful human being that evening. I didn’t know anyone except for my friend and her boyfriend. Oh, and some other girl on our team, but only superficially. I didn’t know the other two girls, but everyone else knew each other because they are all on the same sports team (except for the boyfriend, but he seemed to know the others better than I did).
    Anyway, at one point I had just had it. With no apparent reason I stopped feeling the need to be a pleasant person. I think I quit liking to pretend I am someone I am not. I am different than everyone I know, yet I keep trying to fool them all into thinking I am normal. And it wears me down. Not only that, it makes it seem okay for people to treat me as if I am dumb. I am not dumb, I am simply trying to fit in. But I can’t, because I am on a completely different level. Not better, not worse, just different! It’s tiring always having to pretend you’re someone you’re not, to always try and make others like you. That’s what I realised Friday night: I don’t fit in. Ever. So why try so hard? Makes no sense. I am who I am. Deal with it.
  7. I am so curious what my wise paper has to say this week! Here it is: You dare to live and don’t torment yourself too much with thoughts. You do your job and sing your song while being happily expectant.


    Okay, first of all: I am not pregnant! Just to have that clear. Second, sometimes the paper contains a motto rather than a wise saying, I never know what I get because they’re all rolled up and the writing’s on the inside.
    Now, to the text: I’d like to try that. Put my thoughts on simmer and enjoy myself while trying out new things and singing happy songs. Seems like a wonderful idea! Too bad I’m a crap singer… I almost feel bad for my poor neighbours ;)

I always amaze myself at how much you can learn in a single week. But you’re never too old to learn more, so I say: bring on next week!

Hopefully you’ve all had an awesome week, and I wish you seven more great and insightful days! As always, here’s the Earworm Of The Week to get your spirits in a better mood, if needed. And if not, maybe this medley will bring back some lovely childhood video game-memories. It sure did for this nerdy girl ;)

Cheers, everyone!

6 thoughts on “Sunday Summary

Tell me what you think. Otherwise I'll assume you agree with me all the way! ;)

