Dictionary

Chaos (aka Happily Letting Your Happy Jar Explode)

[noun; ~ Pronunciation: /key-os/]

  • Definition: A great word to describe a typical New Year’s beginning, when all must be prepared for another year, including getting ready administrative-wise, resolution-wise, planning-wise, work-wise, leisure-wise, cleaning-up-wise, and sleep-wise (although usually there’s not a lot of time left for that). And, not to forget: it’s time to finally empty your Happy Jar, which is always a great way to keep yourself busy, but also screams chaos with loose bits of paper flying around.

chaos“One must still have chaos in oneself to be able to give birth to a dancing star”Friedrich Nietzsche

For someone who loves things to be neat and organised, I sure made today a busy day for myself, sifting through what seemed like tons of folded pieces of paper. In other words: I turned my self-made chaos into an orderly list.

Yes, I have emptied my Happy Jar again!

I asked myself why I don’t keep track of all my happy moments on my laptop, making it easier for me to log everything in Excel (I know I am weird, but I just love spreadsheets! Plus, I organise everything in ONE file, but per year! This is awesome!). But the thing is: it wouldn’t be half as much fun! Not only do I get to literally hold every happy moment of 2015 in my hands again, I also keep myself busy by sorting through them.

First, months go by month. Then date by date, from oldest to most recent, oldest on top. Continue by re-reading everything and typing it into my Excel spreadsheet. Sweet, sweet work! It’s not tedious at all, and you know why? Because it’s nothing but good things! It’s happy chaos! :)

I am proud to announce I have jotted down more happy moments in 2015 than I did the year before (although it’s still skewed, with over 45% of all moments logged in January – I say that’s a point of attention for 2016), even if last year, in general, was a bad one. So yay for me for getting more positive!

After working through my stuffed-to-the-limits Happy Jar’s chaotic contents, I selected twelve moments, one for each month, to share here. There are many, many more, but these where the best.

On to a new year of Happy Moments!

  • January: I’m happy my aunt J got to finish her last trip to New Zealand (but it’s so bizarre she’s dead)
  • February: We came in FIRST at the monthly Pub Quiz!! We paid for our drinks with our winnings, so we basically had a free night out!
  • March: T fell in as a Body Pump instructor and kept his eyes on me, as an example to see what move came next. After the class I received compliments from several people, and some even said maybe I should become an instructor! (This was before I indeed became one).
  • April: I GOT TICKETS FOR MIKA! :D
  • May: I fit into my shorts again! I’ve also noticed I have teeny-tiny biceps, and my belly, shoulders, bottom and legs are more toned. Above that, my stamina has increased and is better than I ever could have imagined.
  • June: 50 followers on Dictionary Dutch! Wow and awesome! (I never thought I’d even have one, lol).
  • July: The energy that’s coming off my items, my stuff, makes me peaceful and happy. For the first time in my entire life, I think I would like to be friends with myself :) (I wrote a post about this, too).
  • August: Loki (!!) sat on my hand and stayed there, so I could lift him up (a little explanation: Loki is my black gerbil and he’s scared of everything. He never sits on my hand so I can pick him up. Usually he just sniffs it for food and if that’s not there, he bites me and runs away).
  • September: Went out for a run even though I really didn’t feel like it. And I enjoyed it! :)
  • October: I am doing well. I laugh more, am less stressful, and I’ve grown on a personal and spiritual level (this was before my Birthday From Hell, haha! But a happy moment is a happy moment and I’m proud of myself for writing this. It means I really felt it at the time, and I am back on track now!).
  • November: I’ve regained a little contact with A (A was a guy I hurt a lot a long time ago. Although I apologised, contact was breached – my fault entirely. Now we’re carefully keeping in touch again, and I am grateful for it).
  • December: J and N (they own the gym I visit) have given me a Christmas Gift. Totally unexpected, but ever so much more appreciated! :)

Ah, Janus. Roman god of portals and doorways and name giver to the month January. It is true: we open a door and move from one place to the next. Chaos ensues, but not for long. Only until we’re adjusted to our new surroundings and have given shape to the mess around us.

In my case, my happy paper mess.

My jar is empty again, but not for long. I’m a collector of many things: words, thoughts, panda-items. And happy moments.

It’s the only thing in my life I do in which I willingly let chaos take over: shake the jar until all dates are mixed, so I can sort them out again next year.

Call me a nutcase if you want, but this nutcase is a happy one :)

One thought on “Chaos (aka Happily Letting Your Happy Jar Explode)

Tell me what you think. Otherwise I'll assume you agree with me all the way! ;)

