Sunday Summary

Sunday Summary

(Week 50)

sunday_summary“The difference between stupidity and genius is that genius has its limits”Albert Einstein

It’s the end of the week again, or a beginning of a new one if you will. Whatever you prefer, it’s Sunday and that means it’s summary-time! My seven points of newly acquired wisdom read as follows:

  1. If at any point you feel unmotivated to exercise, buy new sports clothes. It’s so simple yet so effective! Try doing the same routine lesson at least twice a week (and sometimes thrice) for three months straight. It can get quite boring at one point, even if people seem to break into a strange form of dancing every time we hit the bicep-track… But still. Boring nonetheless. After ordering a few sports leggings and shirts, my spirits were beyond lifted! I suspect it has something to do with being able to wear a new outfit and probably also with getting to show it off. Whatever the reason, I found myself looking forward to performing the same routine again. And again. And yes, again.
  2. Building on point one: when trying on new pants/shorts/leggings always do the squat-test! I have a strange fantasy about every woman in the world doing this when trying on new clothes that are to cover your bottom somehow, although in reality I fear I am the only one. But even if, say, a sports legging looks amazing on you and fits you perfectly (and is kind of soft and has an awesome print), don’t forgo to squat! Just one will do fine. Push your bum back and lower it down. Does the legging still feel comfortable in squat-position? Yes? Great! Now take a look in the mirror. Can you see what underwear you are wearing under your legging when squatting? Yes? Great! Now take it back off, cry openly, and send it back to the store… :(
  3. People sense I am easily pleased with and too polite to decline a pen. That’s right. A pen. People keep giving me pens for some reason I don’t fully understand. And the strange part is, it’s always the same pen! There’s an online shop that’s pretty popular in the Netherlands among people who have their own one-person business. Such as the woman who gave me a free pedicure (number six) as well as my Wednesday-afternoon client (number three), who has her own non-profit organisation. They both ordered a metallic green pen WITH touch-pad stylus on top AND their contact details printed on the side, and they each gave me one.
    Seriously, is this a sign from the Universe? “Take the pen and go write something!” Or maybe: “We hand it to you in ink: people who give you this particular pen are to be avoided at all cost.” Either way, it’s a fine pen. A fine one indeed (pun intended).
  4. Don’t haste, and keep your nose out of other people’s business. Hahaha, this is the best thing that happened last week! :’)
    It started with my deceased aunt’s apartment. It’s empty, but sometimes people still send mail to her address, so my mother visits there once a week to empty her mail box. Last Wednesday, she encountered the chairman of the building association (I’m not really sure if that’s the right translation, but it sounds posh and he acted accordingly, so I’m leaving it in), who told her there had been a meeting at which it had been agreed that the “bicycles blocking everyone’s way have to go.” He insisted one of those remaining bicycles was my dead aunt’s, and warned my mother that if it wasn’t gone by the end of the week, they would throw it out themselves. My mother proceeded to go home, tell my father about it, and they both went back to my late aunt’s place to retrieve the delinquent vehicle.
    Next thing we know, we’re eating dinner and the aforementioned chairman knocks on our door, looking flustered and panicked to the extent where he was transpiring heavily, and lost the ability to create whole sentences. Now, as it appeared, the bike my parents had practically been ordered to take home with them ASAP hadn’t been my aunt’s at all! Another woman had claimed it, and she had said she wanted it back “RIGHT NOW!” or she’d go to the police to report a crime. Result: the chairman was near a heart attack and my parents and me were in stitches. Nothing good comes from haste. Or minding someone else’s business.
  5. Don’t overthink things, just do it. Otherwise you’ll only get anxious and frustrated for no reason. I had a Christmas drink from work last Thursday, and because last year’s was such an incredibly bad experience (I had asked to be picked up by other co-workers with the idea that I’d then at least have some people to hang out with since I never meet my colleagues, but they couldn’t have been more negative about EVERYTHING if they’d tried!), I had come up with the Best Plan Ever: go over, say hi to my boss, retrieve my Christmas Complementary Gift Box, and leave.
    The mere thought of having to go there, stand amidst so many people who all know each other for years, not fitting in, kept me up for nights.
    In the end, I went there, talked to some nice people I never met before, but had a good time (despite missing out on all the snacks). My Gift Box was great, and overall the experience wasn’t half as bad as last year’s. Conclusion: stop overthinking possible outcomes to a future event. Just let it happen and experience the ride as it is.
  6. If you wake up in the middle of the night and hear a strange noise, always go take a look (even if you don’t want to get out of your warm, cosy bed). I woke up to a faint and irregular duhmp-duh-duhmp. I thought to myself: “Could it be burglars? Probably not,” and went back to sleep (I am not the most rational person when drowsy due to sleepiness).
    My mother woke me up an hour later by bursting into my room with the words: “Do you also have a leak!?”
    As it turned out, due to the storms we’ve been having lately, parts of the roof in the guest bedroom adjoining to mine had started to leak water, hence the duhmp-duh-duhmp. It’s all fixed now, but imagine if my mother hadn’t gone to bed so late and I hadn’t woken anyone up, then we would’ve had a lot more damage than we did now. So whatever it is that wakes you up: go check it out.
  7. Paper-wisdom! This one is very good: I leave optimism and pessimism as ‘moods’ behind me, and walk the path of reality. Forget about whether the glass is half full or empty, just look at at it and decide whether you want a refill or not. Every day is different and every situation finds in us a different person. Sometimes we’re happy, sometimes we’re not. It’s the same with being optimistic and pessimistic: it depends on our mood which direction we choose to go.

I can’t believe there is so much to learn each week, but this week’s summary is a wrap. On to more learning moments!

I’ll leave you to think about what you’ve learned this week, but not before sharing this week’s Earworm:

Happy week 51 everyone!

5 thoughts on “Sunday Summary

    1. Thanks for thinking of me! I shamefully have to admit, though, that I am not the most Christmassy person out there :p And I don’t have time to blog daily.
      But since I do like a challenge, I hope you’re okay with it if I write a general Christmas post to tackle most points of your challenge at once (which I’ll of course link back to you!).

      Liked by 1 person

Tell me what you think. Otherwise I'll assume you agree with me all the way! ;)

