Sunday Summary

Sunday Summary

(Week 46)

sunday_summary“The roots of education are bitter, but the fruit is sweet”Aristotle

Apart from being reminded people can do the most cruel things to each other for no other reason than religion and force of it, here’s seven new things I learned this week:

  1. Sometimes honesty is more valuable than kindness. Remember I talked about a trainee/intern at my gym, who was trying to become a group lesson instructor (see point 6 in this post)? I didn’t feel comfortable being the one to judge her, as I am myself still improving and learning in this department. The Monday instructor, my mentor so to speak, was not convinced of her abilities at all, and told me it might sound harsh to tell her she’s no good, but it’d be better than to lead her on, making her think she’s doing a good job. In the end, I sat down with the gym owner and told him I didn’t like being in this position, as he’s ultimately the one who’s going to hire her or not. We talked it out, and I think he decided not to go for it. I feel bad for the girl, but in the end, honestly is always a better teacher than kindness. We’ve all been there, haven’t we?
  2. Stop asking people how they are out of politeness! You WILL regret it! I can’t even begin to count how many times I’ve made this mistake in the past week alone. I finally meet a co-worker and I make the mistake of asking her how she’s doing. Result: a fifteen minute tirade on how awful her life is at this moment. And never once did she ask it back! Nobody ever does!
    They’re not interested in me, they’re not even faking it! So why should I? Every. Single. Time. I fall for this! And every time all I get is an endless rant, a never-ending list of complaints about their lives! What’s happened to the polite “I’m fine, how are you?” WHAT HAPPENED TO THAT? O_o Ooh, my poor ears!
  3. Point two brings me to this: everyone loves to talk about themselves. No exceptions. I once spent a whole job interview listening to the interviewer talking about his life, how he got his job, how great he was, and how envious I should be of his life (and I managed to get hired in the end). It’s s simple trick, but you can apply it anytime you don’t want to talk about yourself: ask someone else how they are doing (and prepare to listen to a very detailed update on their lives), or pose a specific question, such as: “but how was your trip to the dentist the other day? You said you were nervous you’d have a cavity, how did it end?” The next thing you have to do is nod your head once in a while, and go “aah”, “I know right!”, “Nooo, really?” at intervals and you’re out of the spotlights.
    And I’m telling you: it works like a charm! Even I fall for it sometimes (and I don’t like talking about myself – except on here).
  4. You don’t have muscles in your fingers. That’s right! I never knew that! (Who says TV isn’t informative!). Apparently, we have tendons in our fingers that respond to movements of the muscles in our forearms (read this article for a more detailed explanation).
    I spent twenty-nine years not knowing that. I wonder what else about my own body I have yet to find out…
  5. As it turns out, I seem to be the owner of a vlog-camera. I don’t have a vlog, but I do have a camera. And on TV I saw someone win a vlog-camera. It was of a different make than mine, but with the same extra selfie-screen and some special options (like Wi-Fi).
    I didn’t even know there was such a thing as a camera that’s especially made for creating vlogs, let alone that I had one! But don’t worry: I have no intention of using mine for any other purpose but to take horrible pictures ;)
  6. There is no limit as to what people will do to each other to get what they want. I’m talking about Paris. What happened there is beyond terrible… So many people dead, so many more on the brink of it, fighting for their lives. Others who have lost someone, who have seen it happen and must be traumatised for the rest of their lives. And for what? To prove a point? What point!?
    I might not believe in God, but I do believe that if there is a deity, it doesn’t matter what you name it, there’s no justification in murdering people in His or Her name. None. If we have been created by God, or Allah, or Yahweh, or Jehovah, there’s one thing I do believe: He would condemn us for killing each other off like this.
    Stop bombing IS fighters, only then will they stop terrorising everyone. Honestly, really? Does anyone believe this? How about the other way around: stop mass-murdering innocent people, stop the terrorism, the tortures, and the hate killings, stop it all. And then we’ll stop bombing your men, how about that?
    Humans… we’ll never learn, will we? That no matter how you look at it, in the end, we’re all just human. We’re hurting our own.
  7. My Friday-morning clients gave me a birthday present! At first I wasn’t sure what it was, but back home I opened it and to my surprise it was a Best Wishes-box, containing 365 pieces of paper. Each slip contains some words of advice, or a positive wish or saying. Pick at random and let fate decide what you need most! So, this week (I’m not opening one each day, that would make these summaries way too easy!) my paper read:
    take time to find silence within yourself, because from this silence rises clarity of mind and the power to distinguish yourself from others.
    It’s quite wise, if you think about it. Only I’ve been told so many times to start meditating, I think I’ll go mad if I hear it once more!

best_wishes

This was my week thus far. How was yours? I hope you had a great one, but if you’re feeling a bit under the weather, maybe my Earworm Of The Week can lift your spirits some (and otherwise I hope it’ll get your mind off whatever is troubling you for a few minutes):

Happy next week everyone!

Tell me what you think. Otherwise I'll assume you agree with me all the way! ;)

