Sunday Summary

Sunday Summary

(Week 43)

sunday_summary“The true sign of intelligence is not knowledge but imagination”Albert Einstein

My laptop has picked this very day to quit working, so I am a little upset (I don’t want to spend a lot of money buying a new one – money I can’t really miss at this moment). But despite my current state of grieving (and sulking), I have seven newly acquired points of wisdom to share with you:

  1. It’s nice to be appreciated. My Monday-morning client and I were enjoying a cup of coffee when he told me someone from my company contacted him to plan a visit. They want to come over to his house, have a little chat with him, check out his house, make a list of the chores I do, and then cut back on the hours I can work there (it’s called a “re-indication” and I’ve also done such visits for a while – check this post). I told him I hope they won’t cut back too much on his hours, after which he said: “I don’t care much about that. I think it’s a lot worse you’re going to be replaced, I much rather keep you as my help.”
    I know to outsiders my work isn’t very valuable, but it’s moments like these when I feel really appreciated, and realise how something as simple as cleaning someone’s toilet can make that person very happy.
  2. Old movies are twice the fun, because it gives insight in what people looked liked and what was “in” when I was a baby/didn’t even exist. Forget Freddy Krueger, don’t even pay too much attention to the special effects and how much better they’ve gotten over the years. It’s really the hair styles and what the characters are wearing (apart from Mister Murder) that are fascinating. Wow, did people really look like this when I was two!?
    I should really start looking back in old family photo albums to see what my sisters and parents looked like then… Amazing! (Also: is this going to be the same for my niece and nephew when they grow up and look back movies and pictures from the 00’s and 10’s?)
  3. Reading the ending of a book before you really get there kills the suspense (and definitely takes the fun out of reading the whole story). I am an idiot. I was reading The Running Man from Stephen King/Richard Bachman and it was so thrilling I just HAD to know the end! So I did the unthinkable and flipped to the back of the book. It’s happened before and I can’t help myself when I do this! I know it is probably the biggest sin to commit when reading, but sometimes I can’t take not knowing what’s going to happen and I simply have to look.
    But now The Running Man lies on my bedside table and hasn’t been opened since I sinned… I promise, for the love of reading, writing and everything in between, I shall never do this again!
  4. On self-destructive days, it’s best to just give yourself a break and take it easy. Last Thursday was a bad day. I was tired, cranky, and nothing seemed to go right. Eventually I gave up telling myself I had to make the most of it, that I had to stay positive, and just let it go. Best decision I’ve made in a while. If you feel unproductive/lazy/tired/a mixture of those, just let yourself have some rest and relax. Don’t push yourself too much, it’s okay to have an off-day every once in a while.
  5. DHL is a liar, as is Hunkemöller. I ordered something online from Hunkemöller and they gave me the option to choose the delivery date and time. DHL was supposed to come around on a Thursday, between eleven a.m. and three p.m., but: nothing. Normally, I’d expect my package to arrive late (the national mail is a disaster in the Netherlands), but since DHL is an external delivery team, AND because I could choose the date, I honestly thought DHL would be on time. Such a disillusion. I am not sure who’s the real bad guy here, Hunkemöller or DHL, but still. They’re all liars.
  6. Every beginning is difficult. There’s a new girl at my gym, an intern. She is learning to be a group lesson instructor, like I am, and the owner of the gym wanted her to try out her stuff by taking over three tracks of my body pump lesson. She didn’t do too bad, but it wasn’t great either, and I could sense the negative judgements from the people in the classroom. Myself, I remembered my first lesson, which was a complete disaster (as was the second, and the first time I gave the full lesson – it lasted half an hour longer than normal!), and I reckoned she did okay.
    It is hard, you know. Everything you do for the first time, no matter how hard you studied or prepared, it’s always difficult. But: practice makes perfect. So never give up trying!
  7. Reverting back to Standard Time* as opposed to Daylight Saving Time is absolutely awesome! I get to stay in bed for an extra hour for free! I don’t have to hurry to catch up with something or worry that I’ve overslept. Woohoo! It’s the only morning a year when being lazy is actually allowed (or just doesn’t show, I’m not sure), even if it’s just for an hour.

I really hope point one of week forty-four will read: My dad is an absolute genius and fixed my laptop in a blink.
REALLY hope so. If not, it will probably be: It’s best to be prepared before you buy a new laptop, because the personnel in some shops these days is completely morose and inadequate.

But that’s all future-talk, let’s see what happens :)

Anything new and fun you’ve learned this week or did your laptop die, too? Let me know!


* I don’t know if Standard Time applies to all countries, in the Netherlands we call it Summer Time (Daylight Saving Time) and Winter Time (which we’re in now). Standard Time is what Google came up with, but it was a bit vague on a general term.

Tell me what you think. Otherwise I'll assume you agree with me all the way! ;)

