Dictionary

Autumn (aka Why Fall Is The Best Season Of All)

Pronunciation: /aw-tuh m/

autumn“Love the trees until their leaves fall off, then encourage them to try again next year”Chad Sugg

Maybe it’s because my birthday is in autumn. Maybe it’s the smell of the falling leaves and nature getting ready for winter. Maybe it’s all the colours around me, some ever so brightly popping out against the fifty shades of green you see everywhere. Or maybe it’s because it’s the season when all the scary, vicious, aggressive geese decide to move to warmer places, which means I’m safe.

It’s probably all of that.

I don’t think I can fully put into words why each year I am happy September comes around, but I am going to give it a try anyway.

First of all, fall is the season of change, more than any other season. If spring encompasses new life, autumn is all about slowly bringing nature into a deep sleep. It’s as if it’s giving nature a new start, by getting rid of all the old and preparing her for a new, fresh beginning. It doesn’t matter if nature has screwed up: fall is here to wipe the sheet clean!

Then the colours. The leaves on the trees everywhere are stunningly beautiful. And sometimes unexpectedly so; I’ve seen deep purple leaves as well as bright red ones, gorgeously combined with yellow, orange and brown. It’s breathtaking, and a true pleasure to the eyes.
Above all, it’s a source of inspiration; I haven’t worked on my rune project for a while, but some colour schemes I’ve seen outside got my fingers itching to get back to work.

And not only does everything look great in this last season before winter, it also smells amazing! Walking through forest areas or natural parks always is a pleasure to me, but even more so now with the brilliant smells of fallen leaves, newly grown mushrooms, and rain everywhere around me.

It’s disappointing how you can’t catch a smell and keep it in a jar so you can enjoy it all year long, but the smell of fall is worth the wait, for it makes the season more typical, striking and generally pleasing.

Moving on to the typical autumn-weather. Where I find winter infamous for its snow, fall is lovely because of its rain storms.

Don’t get me wrong: I don’t like it when it rains all the time, but a good storm I surely enjoy once in a while. Just imagine a pitch black sky with rain pouring down from it, and now and then a bright bolt of lighting tearing the heavens apart. Great, isn’t it?
Now imagine yourself sitting inside and watching all this from behind a window, your pajamas on, a cup of tea within grasps, and your tired feet in a foot bath. You’re covered under a snug blanket and the heating’s on so you’re all comfortable and cosy.
The image just got better, am I right?

You can’t do this in winter, you know. Snow fall is not half as much fun as a rain storm, because usually snow sticks to the ground and rain won’t. Plus, although driving your car through a rainstorm is no picnic, driving it through snow is nothing but utter mayhem.

A good rain storm can last all night, but after fifteen minutes the water of your foot bath is cold anyway, so you just go to bed to wake up to a damp (but dry) morning eventually.
I’d like to point out I still live in the Netherlands and that we don’t have extraordinary weather in general. Although we did have a huge rain storm some years back, which did quite a lot of damage in my region, as well as some heavy snow fall two winters ago. But nothing too dramatic.
So please do not steal my ideal image of a mellow-rain-storm-foot-bath-experience. I’ve lost so much already, I need something to hold on to. Thank you.

My birthday is coming up, and believe it or not: it’s on Halloween. Yes, I was born on October the 31st!
I like my birthday (although this year I am struggling to find something fun to do – I am super late with making arrangements for basically everything I’d like to do), I like to celebrate it, and I like that it’s in my favourite season.
I am not sure how the causality of this works, though (do I like my birthday more because it’s in autumn, or do I like autumn better because my birthday is in it? Hmm, I’ll probably never know).

Fall also means my favourite season-dependent candy and foods are available! Think gevulde speculaas (it’s truly Dutch, the spice “speculaas” has no English translation, although Interglot calls it “brown spiced biscuit” – “gevuld” means it’s a two layer biscuit filled with an almond/sugar filling), almond pastry (om nom nom!), and boerenkool met worst (kale-stew with a special type of sausage – that’s right! We were onto kale long before the present kale-rage! It’s our traditional dish). It’s all back, and it’s all good :)

And finally, the geese. Jeese, the geese! They are finally on their way to warmer horizons. Fine by me.

I like all animals, really I do. And I like birds too, geese included.

But from a far.

Trust me about them. I’ve been hunted by a goose once when I was little and out on a walk with my dad and sisters, and I’m still traumatised. Really, really scary birds.
But they’re gone now :) For the time being, it’s safe to wander past creeks again.

This all makes autumn the best season for me. I am going to intensely enjoy it, all three months of it. What’s your favourite season and why?


PS: I told you they are scary!

4 thoughts on “Autumn (aka Why Fall Is The Best Season Of All)

  1. Late spring into summer. The older I get the less I like cold weather. I love many of the things you mentioned about fall, but for me it is a signal that the next six months are going to be cold…and yeah…blargh. :-D

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am at my worst when the weathet is hot, haha. But maybe I’ll change my opinion about Autumn in a year or ten, who knows. I like Spring, too. When everything comes back to life. And of course, I am spoiled as a Dutchy with relatively soft Winters :p I love crips airs and seeing my breath become visible in the cold air :)

      Liked by 1 person

Tell me what you think. Otherwise I'll assume you agree with me all the way! ;)

