Dictionary

Perfect (aka How Irony Controls My Life)

Pronunciation: /pur-fikt/

perfect“Perfection is achieved not when there is nothing more to add, but when there is nothing left to take away”Antoine de Saint-Exupery

Perfection. What can I say about it? It’s a paradox: I know it’s impossible to reach a state of utter perfection life-wise, but at the same time I cannot stop myself from trying to reach it.

So I compromised and bought a perfect hoodie instead.

I wasn’t really looking for one, but the irony of it made me laugh out loud (plus there was only one left in my size and it was on sale) so I had to have it. Being a perfectionist with a blog in dictionary-style, and living in a cold country (it’s not quite freezing yet, but we’re definitely not far off), it couldn’t have been a better fit for me to wear if it had read “Samantha” on the front.

I’m pretty sure the Universe is trying to tell me something, again ;)

Probably not, though. But still. It’s the thought that counts.

The definition of perfect presented on this new addition to my wardrobe is one I can live with. Perfectly live with, if you want.
Perfect to me has always been: ‘not making any mistakes’. Trust me when I say that’s truly an impossible way of life. For not only does everyone make mistakes, we need to make them in order to learn, develop ourselves and grow into rational, wise human beings.

My biggest mistake was to try and change myself into someone I am not. To please everyone and make everyone like me. An impossible thing to do!

But the moment I let go of my struggle was the moment the puzzle pieces that make up my personality seemed to click together instantly.
I never needed to fight to change, although I thought I did. I never needed to actively try and fix myself; there wasn’t anything broken in the first place!

All I needed to do was let go of the reins. Stop trying to control what was bound to happen by itself eventually anyway. I thought I was fighting against all my bad traits in order to set the real me free, but in reality I was only holding myself prisoner all this time.

I see it now, though. All the qualities I valued so much in others and wished I had: I have them. They’re surfacing. Slowly, gently, they’re showing up. But they’re mine. And they’re there.

So this new definition of perfect is spot on if you ask me. And much more friendly than my initial one.

I am not a perfect person. I make mistakes. I hurt people (sometimes even more than once, but honestly, what do you expect when you keep pestering me? I bite back, you know!), I can be incredibly oafish and rude at times, even if I don’t intend to.

But above all that I am gentle, friendly, respectful and helpful. Strong and strong-willed, a little stubborn (but that’s never hurt anyone) and playful. That’s all me.
Constantly trying to be the best person I can be, like so many people out there.

I am definitely unique in my very own way, and for the first time in my life I dare to state out loud (or rather put it black on white) that I am perfect just the way I am! :)

We all are.

 

Only I’ve got a hoodie to prove it. A perfect fit for a perfect misfit.

3 thoughts on “Perfect (aka How Irony Controls My Life)

    1. “Dutch people are the tallest in the world”:

      So… that’s why in auctions Dutch people start from the highest price (Dutch auction), while the rest of us start from the lowest price (English auction)? :)

      Like

Tell me what you think. Otherwise I'll assume you agree with me all the way! ;)

