Sunday Summary

Sunday Summary

(Week 41)

“Beware of false knowledge; it is more dangerous than ignorance”George Bernard Shaw

It’s time for my weekly list again. This is what I learned:

  1. Being well-organised is fun! (It also saves you a lot of time). I love making to-do lists, but very often I don’t get around to doing everything on them. But every now and then I have days where I just… get into some sort of flow and tick off a lot of items from my to-do list. And it feels amazing! Slacking off feels rewarding some times (watching series is much more fun than getting your administration in order, right?), but being well-organised really is rewarding.
  2. Even if there is no competition going on, it feels great to perform well. I am a perfectionist. Some people (from my sports classes) mistake that for arrogance, but none is less true. I am very insecure about myself and would never state I did something well (although I am trying my best to change that attitude), but it’s not in my nature to give anything less than 100%. So I am sorry to everyone who feels I am a show off, but I am not. I am merely giving my best shot at everything I do, and apparently a good input often leads to good results.
  3. Some people see the glass as half-full, others as half-empty. But a handful of people doesn’t even see the glass (and they’re the worst kind). It’s one thing to be a pessimist, it’s another thing to be a downright energy-sucker and bringer of doom. Oscar Wilde said it, and the man was right (as usual): some bring happiness wherever they go, others whenever they go. But really: they exist.
  4. After being involved with Body Pump for over a year, I recently found out this exercise is not called a “sidewave” but a “sideraise“… Yep. I am still blonde, people. (Wave sounds so much better, though…)
  5. I am a good person. I can’t help but smile and feel grateful for that chat I had with my Wednesday morning client (read this post about it). It was really nice to talk about me feeling so insecure, and at the same time being scared to become arrogant if I’d ever say anything nice about myself. And it felt even better when she reassured me there’s a reason she asked for me specifically when her old help quit, and how much distance exists between confidence and arrogance. I have a long, long mountain to climb if ever I turn arrogant (which I won’t, considering I haven’t even come to the top of the confidence-mountain). So, all is good :)
  6. Kids like me. Monday afternoon, I was sitting at a new client’s house (substituting for a colleague on holiday). She had two young children, a boy of about ten years old and a girl a few years younger (around eight, I think). The woman said she had to take her kids to school, I said okay, and next thing I know her daughter ran up to me and gave me a massive hug. we had met only five minutes before…
    I thought this might be a bit weird, but whatever, until I went to work last Friday morning where I met my client’s daughter(in-law? Not sure) and their grandson, a cute one-and-a-half-year-old. He followed me everywhere through their apartment as I was mopping the floors, and kept running back and forth, laughing at me as he made eye-contact with me (he was so cute I couldn’t be cross with him ruining my wop-work).
    And later, when he had spotted a truck outside, he ran over to me, clung on to my left leg and shouted: “mummy, mummy, truck!” (his real mum was not pleased, haha).
    Maybe kids like the way I smell? I do smell amazing thanks to that pricey new perfume :)
  7. If there’s no background music or sounds in TV-series or films, the scene becomes super creepy instantly. Seriously, I started watching The Walking Dead and the first scene of the first episode of the first season is hella creepy, mostly because there’s no sound or music playing in the background. Nothing to carry this scene, which makes the whole thing massively scary, especially because you know the show is about zombies, so they’re bound to pop up at some point. But no music to tip you off about when and where…

Alas! Those are my seven points of newly acquired wisdom of the pas week. What have you learned recently?

7 thoughts on “Sunday Summary

  1. Loved the bit about some people not seeing the glass. It’s true, though. Some people are just like massive black holes that seem to suck up and destroy all the energy and joy in a room. I want to help them become more positive, but honestly it can be difficult to know where to start.

    Liked by 1 person

Tell me what you think. Otherwise I'll assume you agree with me all the way! ;)

