Sunday Summary

Sunday Summary

(Week 40)

“A good head and a good heart are always a formidable combination”Nelson Mandela

I can’t believe how fast the time flies! It’s Sunday already, so here are the seven things I learned this week:

  1. Happiness is hidden in small things. My mother won some sort of tombola/prize drawing and the prize is a year-long supply of Chio snacks! Needless to say I am much more excited about this than she, but still. I think it’s brilliant!
  2. Friendship is not a collector’s item, so cherish those you love. I can count the amount of true friends on one hand. Does that make me a loser? I think it makes me a happy person knowing that I get to call a few good people my real friends, and that I don’t feel the necessity to add as many people (that I don’t really know) as possible to my social networks. Too much drama, too much stress, and when it comes down to it, it’s those few real friends I can count on, and vice versa. That’s all that matters :)
  3. Everybody wears a mask; we’re all liars. We all pretend to be more okay than we really are, or nicer, funnier, more tolerant… My native country is known to be one of the most, if not the most tolerant country in the world.
    Sure! On paper we are. But in reality… not so much. Taking in refugees from Syria? Sure! Just not in anyone’s neighbourhood, apparently… The news have been booming with mad people all around the Netherlands who refuse to accept refugees coming to their city. Does that sound tolerant to you?
    We all lie, we all pretend. The moment you see that, a whole new perspective opens up to you.
  4. There’s never a good time for breaking bad news. Just do it. Waiting for the last five minutes of your time with a client to tell them you’re leaving in 2016 means trouble. Why? Because they’re bound to receive visitors right before you want to break the bad news to them. You never catch them alone, without witnesses or spectators. But the job needs to get done (pun intended) so you just have to roll with it.
  5. Getting closure feels amazing! This sort of builds on point four. And three. And two. And technically, one as well. Hurting somebody’s feelings is never good, but if it means you get to close a chapter of your life, a bad one, it’s good for you and you owe it to yourself to do it. The result is feeling high on happiness and pride, and it gives off an overwhelming sense of relief.
  6. Walking in high heels is hard work, but I love it nonetheless. It’s been ages since I last walked in high heels and I forgot how it made me feel; taller, feminine, awesome and a little bad-ass. Plus, it’s a great work-out for your calves.
  7. You can lose weight on your calves. Seriously spooky stuff! Or actually, normal stuff, I just never gave it a moment’s thought. Due to all my working out my body has changed slightly, in the sense that I have more muscles and less body fat. I always thought losing weight was restricted to the most known areas, namely the belly and the upper legs/butt. But when I put on my high boots this week, I noticed there was more room left between the rim of the boots and my calves. Thus, my legs are thinner/more toned. Never knew that could happen.

That was my week in seven things I learned. Let’s see what next week brings.

5 thoughts on “Sunday Summary

  1. Your point about us being liars made me think about one of my younger son’s favorite jokes when he was younger. He’d say, “I’m not a liar, Daddy. I NEVER tell lies.” Then there would be a pause before he’d add, “That was a lie. Hee hee hee.”

    Liked by 1 person

Tell me what you think. Otherwise I'll assume you agree with me all the way! ;)

