Dictionary

Gratitude

Pronunciation: /grat-i-tood/

“Happiness cannot be traveled to, owned, earned, worn or consumed. Happiness is the spiritual experience of living every minute with love, grace, and gratitude”Denis Waitley

Yesterday I met an old woman who was a prisoner in her own body. She couldn’t walk and she couldn’t see a lot, because her eyes were very bad. The only thing she could do was sit in a chair by a table and make crossword puzzles (aided by a small magnifying glass).

You’d think this woman was on the brink of desperation, but nah ah! She was laughing away and welcomed me into her home as if I was a long-lost member of her family. Sure she felt bad things weren’t different for her, but she was determined not to give up on staying positive.

Never in my life have I felt so humble.

Here I am, constantly complaining about my life, but at the same time I fail to see the riches in it. I am healthy. I can walk, I can see and I’m not dependent on anyone to keep me cleaned up and fed. I have a job and some good friends. I can read!
So what if things go wrong occasionally? It happens to everyone! But at least I can still quit my own house and visit my friends without needing assistance.

I can do a whole lot of other things than sit at a table and make puzzles! The only person confining me is ME!

So, today, again, I decided to stop being so negative all the time. Sure, if I get one more batch of bad news I’ll scream, cry and feel terrible. That’s a human thing to do and I’m only human after all.

But I won’t let it get the best of me. I’ll go on and make the most of it, despite the hardships I’ll have to deal with in the future.
And I’ve already started by officially accepting I am awesome, by accepting that every inch of my body is just fine the way it is. It’s not perfect, nothing is, but I am 100% amazing anyway.

It took me 28 years to say that, but there it is! I refuse to remain criticising myself and how I look, just because some losers did a few years ago, or because others might have a problem with my awesomeness.

The world of the woman I met yesterday might be very small, but my gratitude towards her is enormous. Her courage and strength have gotten to me, have shown me what real problems are, and how strong people deal with them.

Never change for anyone. And never give up on what you want to achieve in life. They say in times of great desperation, you’ll meet the people who will give you what you need most in order to move forward. I believe this woman has given me just that. And for that, I am eternally grateful.

 

 

…And awesome! ;)

One thought on “Gratitude

Tell me what you think. Otherwise I'll assume you agree with me all the way! ;)

