Thoughts

Mr. Brown

This is getting ridiculous! Have you ever heard about ear worms? Not as in the creepy little bugs, but I mean the name they gave to having a song stuck in your head for a really long time.
Well, I have a recurring one! And I didn’t even know that was possible until I started watching How To Get Away With Murder (HTGAWM).

You see, there’s a man on that show called Billy Brown (can you feel where this is going?), and he’s a good actor, at least I like him in the series so I think he’s doing just fine.

(this guy is not Mr. Brown, by the way. He was just in the shot when the name popped up)
(this guy is not Mr. Brown, by the way. He was just in the shot when the name popped up)

But his name is also the title of the song that turned me into a Mika fan instantly:

When I first heard this song, I remember I had just bought Mika’s first album and I was skipping through his work (as I always do when I get myself a new CD, to see if I like more than just its radio releases). Having reached the seventh track, Billy Brown, I listened for a good fifteen seconds before I burst out laughing. I had made up my mind: I was going to love this musician! If you dare to write a song about a bisexual man AND turn it into an epic hit among your fans, then you’ve got to be pretty darn awesome.

That does not take away the fact that I instantly hear Mika singing it whenever I watch HTGAWM and see Mr. Brown’s name pop up on screen.

I am 100% convinced Mika did not write this song about the actor, but about a fictional character he had in his head. I don’t know the singer personally, but I really do believe this. So yes, I highly doubt there is a correlation between this song and the real person. Just to get that straight (omg, I’m rolling in puns as I go and I don’t even do it on purpose!).
The only thing I am trying to say is that whenever I see the opening credits of HTGAWM I instantly hear Mika sing Billy Brown in my head. Every. Freaking. Time. From start to… well, to the first chorus, to be honest. By then the real Mr. Brown and his colleagues have efficiently erased the song from my head, making me forget all about it until the next episode hits my TV screen. And then it’s just: “Oh, Billy Brown had lived an ordinary life…” all over again.

Tell me what you think. Otherwise I'll assume you agree with me all the way! ;)

