Dictionary

Sunday Night Movie Night: Silver Bullet

It’s:

sunday_night_movie_night

A while ago, I started to make a list of all the movies I wanted to see or see again. Every Sunday evening, I scroll down that list and pick a film to watch, and this week the winner was:

silver_bullet
“The face of the beast always becomes known, and the time of the beast always passes” – Reverend Lowe

Synopsis: Starting at full moon, a small American town is hit by a series of inexplicable and violent murders. A young crippled boy and his non-crippled sister suspect this might be the work of a real werewolf, and set out to kill the beast with the aid of their should-visit-the-AA-more-often uncle.

Mind you, this movie is older than I am! But, I have a soft spot for werewolves AND I remember seeing it for the first time when I was a whole lot younger than I am now, and back then it scared me to bits. So I thought it would be fun to see if this oldie still had it.

It’s based on a novelette by Stephen King, and that’s no shocker because everything about this story screams Stephen King. The characters (i.e. a village drunk, a crippled boy, bullies, a pregnant unmarried young woman), the setting (small everyone-knows-everyone-town) and ending (I won’t spoil it for those who haven’t seen it. But trust me, it’s very Stepen King-ish).
I admire Mr. King, because let’s face it: he’s the master of contemporary horror. Apparently he was that already before I was born, but that doesn’t change the fact that he still owns it. Anyway, old or not old, I enjoyed myself tonight with Silver Bullet.

During the movie I had some questions, mainly about how many full moons you can have during a week, or maybe if I missed something regarding how time passed in the story (but I didn’t). A sufficient explanation was given a bit too late to my likings, but it did take away my point of criticism. The only thing I can now say about the full moon excuse is that I like my werewolves to be classic: only change once a month, and please please please change into this raging murderous beast that has no recollection of his human form, nor has any level of consciousness in him (meaning: you can’t think or reason when you’re in wolf form – this wolf could and did so all the time).

And surely a werewolf should be able to outrun a crippled boy in his wheelchair. Even if it’s a spiced up, motorised wheelchair!

The sense of humour that was present was also very King-like, that means irony above all! Take this; Marty, the young boy in the wheelchair, finds himself in a bit of a predicament when he’s playing with fireworks and gets attacked by the beast. Before spinning his chair around and racing home (again: the wolf, hurt or not hurt, should have caught him!) he shoots a rocket straight into the wolf’s eye. Then, at the end of the movie, he shoots a silver bullet into the other eye to finish him off:

silver_bullet_mini
Now that’s what I call an eye-catcher

If that’s not ironic (or poetic) I don’t know what is.

Silver Bullet lasts as long as an average Disney movie, which is a bit sad considering it’s not a bad werewolf film at all. It’s also not the best, but for a Sunday Night Movie Night it was just perfect :) Would I recommend it? Definitely.


Favourite scene:
A  group of villagers, set out to find whoever killed so many of their loved ones, ends up in a foggy part of the swamp where they soon find out the beast they’re hunting is neither in front of or behind them, but among them under the thick fog. By then, of course, it’s too late and the wolf attacks.
At the end of the killing scene, one villager’s arm is seen coming out of the fog, beating down on something with a baseball bat. After a few strikes, the werewolf steals the bat and starts using it on its victim. Pure retaliation (but also a bit stupid: why would you want to hit someone with a baseball bat when you’ve got sharp claws and bite-through-bone-easily-teeth?).

Tell me what you think. Otherwise I'll assume you agree with me all the way! ;)

