Dictionary

Loss And Gain

Pronunciation: /los/ /n/ /geyn

loss_and_gain“One man’s loss is another man’s gain” – Proverb

My boss called me today. Health care institutions, namely organisations offering household help, everywhere in the Netherlands are falling apart. Think of bankruptcies and broken contracts, thousands of people losing their much needed help and many others losing their jobs.
But not my organisation! Oh no, they’re doing pretty well, if I may believe the stories. Particularly well since the others around them are falling to pieces and the company I work for is very eager to jump in on lost contracts and getting new (read: more) clients.

I never really thought it would mean a lot of change for me, since I am only a substitute and merely work when other’s aren’t available. But then my boss phoned me and asked me if I was interested in becoming part of a ten-headed team to indicate new clients and I began to realise this might be bigger than I thought.

This is the thing: my company provides household and health care help to elderly and/or disabled people throughout the Netherlands. They do this through contracts with local governmental institutes, who issue what they call “indications” for everyone needing help.
For example: say you’re in need of someone to help clean your house, because you just lost your partner and you have all kinds of health problems yourself, or any other reason. You’d need to go to the local government office and request someone like me. They will get you in touch with a company like the one I work for, but then they’d also send someone of their own over to check how many hours the help would need in order to clean up. Some clients receive an indication for three hours a week, others for less (it’s hardly ever more).
My company will then send someone over for the amount of time indicated by the local government. This indication is temporary, meaning that every now and then someone from their offices will come over and re-indicate your situation.

Because of the bankruptcy of a fairly big competitor of ours, our local government can’t handle all the new re-indications. And there’s not a company that would take over the 6,100 people who are now without household help, without a re-indication first (basically all companies feel like: less is more). My boss’s bosses came up with the idea of creating a group of people to indicate their own (new and old) clients when needed, and this is what my chef asked me. If I would like to be a part of that team.

For me, it means more working hours, thus more income! :) Plus, I like cleaning, but it’s not much of a mental challenge.
So I said yes-yes-yes-thank-you-very-much, and now they want me to go to a training course next Wednesday. I’m still not exactly sure what we’re going to be doing, except for visiting clients and estimating how much time our colleagues would need to clean their homes, but I guess I’ll figure it out next week.

And if we have to re-indicate over 6,000 people, I guess it means I’m going to be very busy soon (unless they fire me for being too honest and unable to cut back on lots of hours – oh well, can’t win them all).

5 thoughts on “Loss And Gain

  1. Our government is one that focuses on keeping rich people rich. Everything else doesn’t seem to matter much :/ Besides, the Dutch are notorious for their bureaucracy… Yay! -_-
    Anyway, I hope I didn’t hurt your head too much ;)

    Like

  2. So I am curious how Dutch healthcare system works in general, compared to British NHS?

    My understanding is that, as healthcare is a scarce resource, it will be rationed one way or another, either by price (US system before Obama care) or by waiting lines (Canada). In your opinion, which one is better?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m not an expert on health care, so I can’t answer your question, but I can try and explain our system: our previous system was private health care versus basic. Basically it meant you were always insured (they used taxes to supplement this kind, although you’d pay a small fee yourself), but the private kind was more expensive and offered better benefits. Also, there was a “stash” of money available to people who didn’t need health care: I remember not having to go to my GP for a year, and I received a small amount of money from my health insurance.
      Now, however, it’s switched so that everyone is obliged to have some form of health care, there’s no private or basic any more, but a basic insurance (which everyone must have), and then there’s additional options you can buy, like extra dental care and/or extra health care (say, I don’t have an additional insurance package which would cover, for instance, physiotherapy, but I sprain a muscle and need it anyway. In my situation, I’d have to pay for the treatment myself as opposed to when I would have an additional insurance package). Also, the “stash” has vanished, instead, we now have a minimal amount of money out of which we are obliged to pay for treatments that are covered by the insurance we chose, but they won’t cover it until we’ve busted through that amount of money. Another example: say I need medications and my health insurance will cover it, but only after I’ve paid €375 first myself. I’d have to pay just as much until I’ve paid at least that, and then the rest of my costs will be paid by my insurer.
      I know, it’s a weird system and I’m not a fan, but at the same time I realise there’s a lot of countries with worse health care than mine.

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Also, forgot to mention, our government keeps cutting back on health care, so the minimum amount of money we have to pay goes up every year (a few years ago we started this new system and then it was set at €250…). The worst part is, they cut back on chronically ill people’s benefits. They keep receiving less money from the state and end up having to pay more and more themselves, while most of them they can’t work or earn only a little. And even people who can’t afford health insurance NEED to have at least a basic insurance. It’s a new law. And the health care organisations keep increasing the fees for the basic insurances… It’s a sick game, really.

      Liked by 1 person

Tell me what you think. Otherwise I'll assume you agree with me all the way! ;)

